Users still show up in GAL (Global Address List) after being deleted.
I have some users that are no longer with the company. I have disabled their network account and through Exchange tasks removed their mailbox. They still show up in the Global Address Book for everyone. There are some users that have been gone for well over 4 months and they are still there.