vCenter 4.0 Discovered Virtual Machine Folder

I'm using vCEnter 4.0 to manage 6 vSphere host. I have notice when I move VM between host and switch to Vm's and template view, I see a folder called " Discovered Virtual Machine" with a bunch of VM's listed so my VM are not in the folder thoug..

I never created this folder? What is the purpose of this folder and how I can I get ride of it and prevent it from coming back?
LVL 20
compdigit44Asked:
Who is Participating?
 
coolsport00Connect With a Mentor Commented:
YOu should be able to right-click on them and select 'delete'.

~coolsport00
0
 
coolsport00Commented:
It's a default folder created by vCenter. You can rename it if you'd like. Folders are used solely for management and security purposes (you can assign permissions on folders).

Regards,
~coolsport00
0
 
compdigit44Author Commented:
But How can I get ride of them I have two of them

one called "Discovered Vitural Machine" and the other "Discovered Virtual machine"??
0
2018 Annual Membership Survey

Here at Experts Exchange, we strive to give members the best experience. Help us improve the site by taking this survey today! (Bonus: Be entered to win a great tech prize for participating!)

 
compdigit44Author Commented:
When I right click and say delete is states that all Vm's with in the folder will be deleted as well..

I do not want to do this.. I just want to remove the folder
0
 
coolsport00Commented:
Oh, is this your only folder in the Templates view? If not, you have to have at least one folder in this view, thus why this default folder. You can create one and drag/drop your VMs to your custom folder.

~coolsport00
0
 
jweiss1113Connect With a Mentor Commented:
It is simply the default folder for VMs automatically created by vCenter.  If you want to delete it, first move the VMs to either the root of the Infrastructure by dragging & dropping them or by moving them through drag-n-drop to another folder.  Then right-click on the folder and choose delete.  Since your VMs will be gone, the warning that they will be deleted is moot.  You do not need the folder.  This default is not much different thant the Virtual machione portgroup automatically created during installation called VM Network.  It provides immediate functionality but may be modified or removed later.
0
 
compdigit44Author Commented:
Cool thanks Everyone
0
 
coolsport00Commented:
Glad to help :)

~coolsport00
0
All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.