Recycler folder in a network drive

Each user on our network has a hidden folder, recycler, in their network share.  I realise this is because of the My Documents redirection.  I just need to know how to clear it.  I can ask users to empty their desktop recycle bin, which will clear anything they have put in their on that current PC and profile.  But anything from an old profile or PC will still remain in there.  Is it safe for me to just delete these files straight out of their share, or is there another manual cleanup method?
clevelandfireAsked:
Who is Participating?

Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
 
JarrodConnect With a Mentor Commented:
You can delete the recycler folders on mass if needbe, but you could look at controlling it via group policy to either delete straight away instead of sending to the recycle bin or control the size. Personally I allow the recycle bins just in case and just do a search for the hidden recycler folders on the our data server once every few month and delete them
0
 
scriven_jCommented:
You can just delete it, but would need to do so from a DOS prompt.

0
 
scriven_jCommented:
If you have a problem due to files contained in it, there is a Knowledgebase article with further information:-

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/229041

Obviously substitute C:\ for the network drive letter.
0
Keep up with what's happening at Experts Exchange!

Sign up to receive Decoded, a new monthly digest with product updates, feature release info, continuing education opportunities, and more.

 
ShaunCommented:
The logic behind is, when you delete any file from a N/W share the file goes into the Recycler folder in the N/W share. If your Documents is redirected and you delete a file form it, it would go to your local Recycler folder.

I'm still wondering what exactly you are trying to achive, are you trying to delete the Recycler folder from N/W share?
0
 
clevelandfireAuthor Commented:
To save space, there's over 30GB of recyclers on our File server.
0
 
JarrodCommented:
I use the redirected my docs as well and it does create the recycler folder in that users redirected my docs all the time and anything they delete ends up in there, hence why I said above I empty them for the same reason every few months at a server level.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.