Want to protect your cyber security and still get fast solutions? Ask a secure question today.Go Premium


Stopping other domains from stealing my site

Posted on 2010-11-13
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2012-05-10
I have a site, let's call it mysite.com.  While doing some keyword checks and search engine rankings, I found another site, let's call it photo.notmysite.com which had my exact site being shown.

They have my entire site acting as their subdomain.  I contacted my hosting company and they said they are "url linking" or something like that.  Is there a way to stop that from happening?

My first thought is to put some code on my pages to only show the content if the server IP matches that of my server....

Thoughts?  Anyones else experience this?

Question by:Slim81
  • 6
  • 6
  • 2
LVL 84

Accepted Solution

Dave Baldwin earned 1500 total points
ID: 34127872
If they are using frames to show your site as theirs, this script should break out of the frame and show it as being your site in the address bar.
<script type="text/javascript">
  if (top.location != self.location) {
  top.location.href = "http://mysite.com" ;

Open in new window


Author Comment

ID: 34128648
Do you have experience with something like this?  

I am trying to figure out what their intensions are, they are from HongKong, I am in the US.

I will implement your "iframe stopper" and my "server ip stopper" when I am back at the office.
LVL 84

Expert Comment

by:Dave Baldwin
ID: 34128903
We had a related question recently and I found that code and checked it.  Frames have been a common way to hi-jack sites.  Let me know if that's not what is happening.
Cyber Threats to Small Businesses (Part 1)

This past May, Webroot surveyed more than 600 IT decision-makers at medium-sized companies to see how these small businesses perceived new threats facing their organizations.  Read what Webroot CISO, Gary Hayslip, has to say about the survey in part 1 of this 2-part blog series.


Author Comment

ID: 34129292
Well, it looks like they were not using iframes, when I looked at the view source from their site, I didn't see any frames.  I tried your code and nothing changed, so they are probably not using frames.

This is what I did (I am on a windows server, hosted by Godaddy, running IIS7, classic asp site) my second line of code is:

if request.ServerVariables("SERVER_NAME") = "mysite.com" then

So, with the code above, if the server name is not my domain, the page will not load.  The above code worked, my site is no longer visible under their domain name...

I will still use your code Baldwin, in case they start using iframes....

Do you think it is better to redirect them to my site instead of having it be blank?

I am open to all ideas...

LVL 84

Expert Comment

by:Dave Baldwin
ID: 34129352
If you redirect it to your site, they may not notice as quickly and maybe you'll get some more viewers.  If you want them.
LVL 81

Expert Comment

ID: 34129429
The dynamic code that runs on your system does not transfer if they copied your site since all they can copy is the HTML content and your server check will not be part of it.  You can contact the provider and advise them that their customer is violating your copyrights.

You could try to look at the Referrer section of your server to see if the request is seen as being a link to not respond or do something that wioll aolert the user that they are/should go to your site directly.

Without seeing the notyour site, it is impossible to know whether it is really a link or something else.

Author Comment

ID: 34129464
It wasn't a copy, it was my site.  If I made a change on one of my pages (ie added some text), it would show up immediately on their site.  It was an exact "live" copy.

Added the dynamic code blocked the site from showing on their site.

Let me know if that makes sense or not, I can remove the code and show you the two different sites if needed.....

LVL 84

Expert Comment

by:Dave Baldwin
ID: 34129563
It sounds like they were having the domain forwarded to your site.  If you post the URL we can look it up and see what's going on.

Author Comment

ID: 34129628
their site is photo.sumlink.info

Please note, nothing will show as I have the dynamic code in place.

How do you look that up?

LVL 84

Expert Comment

by:Dave Baldwin
ID: 34129703
Here's the domain registration info on "sumlink.info"  "photo.sumlink.info" is a subdomain of that.  And yes, they are pointing straight to your Godaddy site.  They are probably doing domain forwarding from their registrar which is 'alias.info' in Egypt... which appears to be part of 'extensions.net' which is registered thru Godaddy.  Their servers appear to be in Seattle.

I use IDServe.exe from GRC.com and WhoisTD.exe from Nirsoft.
Domain ID:D32997710-LRMS
Created On:21-May-2010 04:37:05 UTC
Last Updated On:20-Jul-2010 20:34:23 UTC
Expiration Date:21-May-2011 04:37:05 UTC
Sponsoring Registrar:GoDaddy.com Inc. (R171-LRMS)
Registrant ID:CR48464543
Registrant Name:sum link
Registrant Organization:
Registrant Street1:hongkong
Registrant Street2:
Registrant Street3:
Registrant City:hongkong
Registrant State/Province:hongkong
Registrant Postal Code:86678
Registrant Country:HK
Registrant Phone:+852.68754257
Registrant Phone Ext.:
Registrant FAX:
Registrant FAX Ext.:
Registrant Email:sumlink412@gmail.com
Admin ID:CR48464555
Admin Name:sum link
Admin Organization:
Admin Street1:hongkong
Admin Street2:
Admin Street3:
Admin City:hongkong
Admin State/Province:hongkong
Admin Postal Code:86678
Admin Country:HK
Admin Phone:+852.68754257
Admin Phone Ext.:
Admin FAX:
Admin FAX Ext.:
Admin Email:sumlink412@gmail.com
Billing ID:CR48464565
Billing Name:sum link
Billing Organization:
Billing Street1:hongkong
Billing Street2:
Billing Street3:
Billing City:hongkong
Billing State/Province:hongkong
Billing Postal Code:86678
Billing Country:HK
Billing Phone:+852.68754257
Billing Phone Ext.:
Billing FAX:
Billing FAX Ext.:
Billing Email:sumlink412@gmail.com
Tech ID:CR48464551
Tech Name:sum link
Tech Organization:
Tech Street1:hongkong
Tech Street2:
Tech Street3:
Tech City:hongkong
Tech State/Province:hongkong
Tech Postal Code:86678
Tech Country:HK
Tech Phone:+852.68754257
Tech Phone Ext.:
Tech FAX:
Tech FAX Ext.:
Tech Email:sumlink412@gmail.com

Open in new window


Author Comment

ID: 34129752
I had pulled up their whois info earlier and tried giving them a call, ofcourse the phone number is not valid, lol.

Any ideas as to why they would forward to my domain?

My site is an order management site, specifically designed for a small shopping cart program (probably only 200,000 users or so).  It has only been live for a few weeks.

Thanks for all the insight!

LVL 81

Expert Comment

ID: 34129922
It is impossible to determine their motivation.  Could be they would collect the information submitted.
LVL 84

Expert Comment

by:Dave Baldwin
ID: 34130080
I guess they liked your work....

Author Closing Comment

ID: 34130815
DaveBaldwin was extremely helpful and gave good insight into my issue.

His solution was related to iframes, which wasn't the problem I was faced with, though it is something I was able to implement and it should hopefully provide some "security" in the future.

Thanks to dave a solution was reached.

Featured Post

Who's Defending Your Organization from Threats?

Protecting against advanced threats requires an IT dream team – a well-oiled machine of people and solutions working together to defend your organization. Download our resource kit today to learn more about the tools you need to build you IT Dream Team!

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Lease-to-own eliminates the expenditure of hardware replacement and allows you to pay off the server over time. Usually, this is much cheaper than leasing servers. Think of lease-to-own as credit without interest.
This article investigates the question of whether a computer can really be cleaned once it has been infected, and what the best ways of cleaning a computer might be (in this author's opinion).
Look below the covers at a subform control , and the form that is inside it. Explore properties and see how easy it is to aggregate, get statistics, and synchronize results for your data. A Microsoft Access subform is used to show relevant calcul…
Is your OST file inaccessible, Need to transfer OST file from one computer to another? Want to convert OST file to PST? If the answer to any of the above question is yes, then look no further. With the help of Stellar OST to PST Converter, you can e…
Suggested Courses

580 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question