Link to home
Create AccountLog in
Avatar of B1izzard
B1izzard

asked on

Revert to startup-config

Is there a way to revert to a startup-config without doing a reload, not using copy startup-config running-config, and not typing 'no' to undo every command entered?  I don't want to merge, just restore the exact config without reloading.
Avatar of jlindler
jlindler

Try config replace startup-config.
Avatar of Jimmy Larsson, CISSP, CEH
No, the copy-command will merge the running config with the startup-config making your router a mess. Either you do "show startup-config", copy the content to notepad, do a manual process of determing wich lines to copy and then paste it. But still, there might be commands in running-config that needs to be "no":d aswell. It is either a piece of cake or a night mare depending on how complex your config is.

A reload makes it a lot easier for you..

Best regards
Kvistofta
ASKER CERTIFIED SOLUTION
Avatar of jlindler
jlindler

Link to home
membership
Create an account to see this answer
Signing up is free. No credit card required.
Create Account
Afaik, there is no other possiblity (you ruled them all out).

But tell me, why don't you want to use copy startup-config running-config. That's the easiest way (without reloading)?
Copy start to run will not negate the changes you made....  

This site provides a good example:
http://packetlife.net/blog/2010/may/17/use-configure-replace-instead-of-copy-start-run/
Depends on the platform and the OS version.
SOLUTION
Link to home
membership
Create an account to see this answer
Signing up is free. No credit card required.
Create Account
the configure replace-command is not available on all versions and platforms. Since this question was general the general answer is "no". But the other experts here are right: configure replace COULD be the solution.

/Kvistofta
Avatar of B1izzard

ASKER

Looks like it doesn't work for crypto commands.  I tried to revert, and the old crypto maps that I had just entered (but hadn't saved) were still there.  It's starting to look like only reload will completely revert.
Thanks.