Link to home
Start Free TrialLog in
Avatar of swedishmotors
swedishmotorsFlag for United States of America

asked on

What happens if i delete the network folders under my network places?

What happens if i delete the network folders under my network places?
Does it do anything to the folder itself or affect any other network users?
Or does it only delete it locally?
 swedishmotors-383639.flv
ASKER CERTIFIED SOLUTION
Avatar of johnb6767
johnb6767
Flag of United States of America image

Link to home
membership
This solution is only available to members.
To access this solution, you must be a member of Experts Exchange.
Start Free Trial
If you have a proper network connection and the folders are the network folders, then deleting the folders will do just that - delete them.

If you do not want the network folders showing, then just disconnect the network drive mapping.

... Thinkpads_User
As in no actual data is affected for you or users. Those should only be about 1kb in size...

Usually, they are autocreated when you open a file via a unc path...

 
Avatar of swedishmotors

ASKER

So, I do not have a disconnect option.
When I delete I get a confirm file delet dialog - am I deleting the shortcut or the actual folder?
Right click on the folder in question and select Properties. Under the General Tab, it will tell you if it is a shortcut and the size will be small. If it is a shortcut, then johnb767 is correct and it can be deleted.

... Thinkpads_User
Easy way to get a perpective on these...

Go to My Computer/C Drive/Documents and Settings/(your userid)/Nethood

That's the explorer view of the My Network Places folder. If you switch to details view, you can see more info on them.eg file size, file types etc...
It is only 4 kb in the recycle bin, says folder under the general tab but I'm guessing it has to be a shortcut.
SOLUTION
Link to home
membership
This solution is only available to members.
To access this solution, you must be a member of Experts Exchange.
Start Free Trial
Thanks