Cant Delete SharePoint Folders

Im trying to delete a few SharePoint folders and Im not able to do so. I can delete the files underneath them but when trying to delete the folder I get the following error message:

"The file is currently checked out or locked for editing by another user."

There is no other user editing the folders.
Cyber ITEngineerAsked:
Who is Participating?

Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
 
TEEDAConnect With a Mentor Commented:
Hover on the file name, right mouse click and one of your options should be to discard check out.  
0
 
zephyr_hex (Megan)DeveloperCommented:
if this is WSS 3.0, have you applied SP 2?
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/827930/

if that doesn't work...
perhaps try this to get the name of the file that sharepoint thinks is checked out by changing the View to include the Checked Out To column.

or try deleting in Explorer View.
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
Everything is updated.   You dont see the file in Explorer view.
0
The 14th Annual Expert Award Winners

The results are in! Meet the top members of our 2017 Expert Awards. Congratulations to all who qualified!

 
TEEDACommented:
You can over ride/discard the check out in order to delete the folder, but only if you have Design permissions or higher.
0
 
Cyber ITConnect With a Mentor EngineerAuthor Commented:
SOLVED: I found the answer to my question.  

There were files deleted from the site however they were still checked out by a user before deletion which basically made these files HIDDEN.  I was able take ownership of this files and then check them back in and then I should be able to delete the folder.
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
How can I take ownership or check-in a file that currently resides in the folder but checked out by someone else?
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
Yeah I noticed that but I didnt want to discard whatever changes may have been done to it though.
0
 
TEEDACommented:
Then I think you'll have to contact the person who has it checked out and request they upload the latest version.
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
Yep, that will be difficult. The user doesnt exist anymore which is weird that it still indicates it is checked out by that person.  Thanks!
0
 
TEEDAConnect With a Mentor Commented:
guess they left before they checked it back in! In which case, you really dont have any option but to discard the check out.....good luck!
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
How should I dish out points?
0
 
TEEDACommented:
That's entirely your choice, -CyberIT!!
0
 
screen-nameCommented:
Try deleting with sharepoint designer.
0
 
Cyber ITEngineerAuthor Commented:
My solution was the answer to the original question.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.