DFS synch and redirected folders - what happens if...

So I have 2 servers in 2 offices. They both are part of a DFS namespace and have the 'same' folder on each of them.

I have however had some sync problems because of extremely large files and slow internet connection, so they are not fully up to sync with each other.

So if a user has been working in office "B" with her 'documents folder' redirected to a DFS share, and today she shows up in office 'A', what will happen?

Her computer is perfectly synced up in the 'B' office - will her logging on to the server here in the 'A' office (same domain different site) screw up her documents folder?

In a perfect world she would simply see what is on the server folder here and (hopefully) copy over the locally stored offline files to the 'A' server redirect folder, and eventually it would all synch together... but, it never works like you want it to...

what will happen when she logs on here in the 'A' office?
somewhereinafricaAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
Andrew OakeleyConnect With a Mentor ConsultantCommented:
You say the following which indicates you are talking about user data, i.e. something the user has saved like a word or excel document:
> So user x is in office A and is saving her stuff on DFS share on server A. She now comes to office B (where the files she has saved has not yet replicated to)

Then you say the following which indicates that you are talking about having her profile in the DFS
>but nothing that the computer has saved is there anymore (because it has not yet replicated from the A server)

I also assume you are talking about a user with a laptop??

So putting that together:
Q. User with laptop saves word document to redirected mydocuments folder in a Replicated DFS, that is also syncronised locally on the laptop. When she moves to site B where the file has not replicated to yet and logs on what will happen?

A. As the server in site B does not know about the document yet I imagine that it will be treated as if she created the document offline, and it will be syncronised to her redirected documents folder on Server B, and then DFS will sync it back to server A. If she had done some work on the file in site B; The file from server A will be recognised as the oldest file and discarded somewhere along the way.

You may like to read Microsoft’s Support Statement Around Replicated User Profile Data
http://blogs.technet.com/b/askds/archive/2010/09/01/microsoft-s-support-statement-around-replicated-user-profile-data.aspx

I have never used DFSR for replicated folders where two offices were in the same geographical state, so I have never had an issue where a user (unless they could fly) could be in a second office before DFS has replicated. So the above is my "best guess"
0
 
AwinishCommented:
0
 
Andrew OakeleyConsultantCommented:
As Awinish says, last save wins.
0
 
somewhereinafricaAuthor Commented:
Ok, but then tell me this scenario:

Office A
Server A

Office B
Server B

So user x is in office A and is saving her stuff on DFS share on server A. She now comes to office B (where the files she has saved has not yet replicated to). She logs on, and suddenly her computer sees the correct folder (because it is a DFS duplicate folder) but nothing that the computer has saved is there anymore (because it has not yet replicated from the A server). Will this result in:

The computer will re-copy all the files to the DFS share
or
It will delete the files on her computer thinking that there isn't supposed to be anything in there

Which one happens?
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.