Solved

Can I delete the Windows.old and Windows.old.000 after reinstalling Windows 7 ?

Posted on 2011-03-16
4
1,502 Views
Last Modified: 2012-05-11
Is it safe to delete the Windows.old and Window.old.000 files after reimaging a machine with Windows 7?

The laptops we image come with Windows 7 already loaded on them. When we receive the machine we are immediately booting up and loading a Windows Image we created and put on a local server. We are basically loading a Windows Backup Image, we are not using Symantic Ghost or any other imaging software. After the machine is reimaged we are seeing 7-8Gig of files in the windows.old and windows.old..000 files and we would like to delete them if possible without messing up the new install. Any help would be greatly appreciated
0
Comment
Question by:Help_ATL
4 Comments
 
LVL 20

Expert Comment

by:marsilies
ID: 35148134
What software are you using for the imaging? WAIK?

The Windows.old folders are "safe" to delete in that deleting them won't affect the current Windows install. However, you should make sure you don't need any of the files from these directories (which based on your decsription, you don't)

You can delete the folders in explorer, or use the Disk Cleanup tool:
http://www.kodyaz.com/articles/delete-windows-old-removal.aspx
0
 
LVL 1

Expert Comment

by:mcsestretch
ID: 35148170
If you are absolutely certain you do not need any of the data in those old folders then they are safe to delete.

However, I would wait until you get the applications reinstalled on your current Windows build before deleting the old data.  Otherwise you may have to recustomize any applications that you previously installed whne installing them on the new Windows build.
0
 
LVL 5

Accepted Solution

by:
lscarbor earned 500 total points
ID: 35148171
Assuming you know you don't need any data files from the 'old' install, yes you can.

The important thing to know is that in a normal upgrade all your previous data files are there too.

In your case, the 'old' files are a result of re-installing Windows, so you should be safe. However . . .

If you're sure you have all the documents, pictures and any other data files from your 'old' folders and you're sure (very very sure) you have a backup or you don't need them any more, you can delete them.

I keep an external drive to copy those to. That way if the customer tells me it's okay to trash them, and then later realizes that the 'most important document in the world' was in those folders, I can pull it off the external drive.

SO, if you know you don't need any data files from the 'old' install, you can delete them. They don't have any operating importance, just data from a previous install.
0

Featured Post

Manage your data center from practically anywhere

The KN8164V features HD resolution of 1920 x 1200, FIPS 140-2 with level 1 security standards and virtual media transmissions at twice the speed. Built for reliability, the KN series provides local console and remote over IP access, ensuring 24/7 availability to all servers.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

In this article, I will show you HOW TO: Perform a Physical to Virtual (P2V) Conversion the easy way from a computer backup (image).
A quick guide on how to use Group Policy to create a custom power plan and set it active on Windows 7.
This Micro Tutorial will teach you how to the overview of Microsoft Security Essentials. This is a free anti-virus software that guards your PC against viruses, spyware, worms, and other malicious software. This will be demonstrated using Windows…
This Micro Tutorial will go in depth within Systems and Security in Windows 7 and will go into detail regarding Action Center, Windows Firewall, System, etc. This will be demonstrated using Windows 7 operating system.

820 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question