Shared Folders

When I stop sharing a folder under SBS 2008 does it get deleted? I hope not...If not where can I find it?
gordonswabyAsked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

gordonswabyAuthor Commented:
When I stop sharing a folder under SBS 2008 does it get deleted? I hope not...If not where can I find it?
0
RoshankaCommented:
The Tasks pane allows you to view and manage the shared folders on Windows SBS 2008. Some tasks in the Tasks pane are only available when a shared folder is selected. The following table details the tasks that are available.
0
gordonswabyAuthor Commented:
I'm not sure that answers my question.
0
Cloud Class® Course: Ruby Fundamentals

This course will introduce you to Ruby, as well as teach you about classes, methods, variables, data structures, loops, enumerable methods, and finishing touches.

duderdeCommented:
If you stop sharing a folder it definitely does not get deleted.
The folder can be found at the exact location where you shared it. In my company we have created a folder called shares which contains all the shares used in the company and which are used depending on the OU.
If you "lost" the location of the network share, you should be able to find by searching for it (if you know the original folder name) on the SBS machine or search on the SBS machine for a file that is in the share. After u found that file u can simply open the folder containing the file by right clicking it.

Hope that helps and answers your question.
0
Larry Struckmeyer MVPCommented:
Nope, stoping shareing will not cause the folder to be deleted.  It will, however, make in unavailable to anyone not logged on to the server directly from either the console or RDC.  Once you have logged on to the server, either at the console or via RDC, it will be where you left it, just not shared.
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
gordonswabyAuthor Commented:
Could have been more in depth
0
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
SBS

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.