Users with only read-permission can remove icon from shared desktop anyway

We have a situation there our users are able to delete icons from the shared desktop at the terminal server despite that permissions are set to READ.

Basic setup of two windows server 2008 machines. One as fileserver / AD  and the other as terminal server.

Start menu for users are redirected to a shared folder  \\fileserver\folder$. Desktop for users are made by simply putting all icons in C:\Users\Public\Desktop at the terminal server. This setup gives users the ability to add their own icons to desktop, and the file is saved in user desktop folder, i.e. \\fileserver\userprofiles\user\Desktop at the same time as the shared desktop stays intact.

Both start menu redirect folder and shared desktop folder have the same security settings and users are unable to delete from start menu, but as I said before, they can delete from shared desktop.  Strange.


Users belong to following groups:
* Domain users
* Remote desktop users
* Office employes

File permission as well as folder permissions are set to
SYSTEM                  Full
Domain users        Read, show folder content
Administrator           Full
Administrators        Full
Interaktiv             Read and execute

Deleting an icon as a user gives: "Do you want to move this to the trash bin?"   YES.    and then: "You need to enter administrator  permissions to be able to delete.."   CONTINUE
This removes the file/icon.

I would appriciate any idea about this.

Regards
Martin
Martin_RadboAsked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Justin OwensITIL Problem ManagerCommented:
Does it remove from all users' desktops, or just that user's?  Remember that UAC will allow some "administrative" type actions to be completed, but only affect that user's profile.  If it was truly being done with elevated permission, then it would cause the icon to disappear from all users' desktops.
0
Martin_RadboAuthor Commented:
The icon is located in the shared (all users) desktop folder and are removed from everyones desktop once deleted.
0
Justin OwensITIL Problem ManagerCommented:
The fact that you are getting a "Continue" rather than a prompt for Administrative credentials means your server thinks that the users are logged in with elevated privileges.  Have you verified that the users are not, indeed, Admins on that box?
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
Martin_RadboAuthor Commented:
You're right. I'm stupid...   Someone, probably me, had added "domain users" to the local admin group at that box.

Sorry to bother you.
:-)

0
Justin OwensITIL Problem ManagerCommented:
It may have been done to expedite TS access, originally.  Not stupid, just one of those little details which can be easily overlooked.  Glad you figured it out.

DrUltima
0
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Windows Server 2008

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.