Receiving Adress rejections for sending Mails

Posted on 2011-04-28
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2012-05-11
Hello Community,

we have a SBS 2008 with Exchange 2007 - everything i running fine except this Error Message we receive from a single Mail Account we try to send a Mail:

// start of Message we Receive:
Recipient address rejected: Mail appeared to be SPAM or forged. Ask your Mail/DNS-Administrator to correct HELO and DNS MX settings or to get removed from DNSBLs; MTA helo: servername.domain.local, MTA hostname: p578bb76a.dip0.t-ipconnect.de[] (helo/hostname mismatch) ##
// end of Message

We used to set up a send connector in the Exchange Management Console -> Organisation-Configuration -> Hub Transport -> Send-Connectors

(Sorry for Translation Mistakes - we use a German OS)

There we added the Send conenctos (STMP:*)
This is the Information so far!
Can anyone help me to resolve the Problem?

Question by:Blieswood
  • 2
  • 2
  • 2
LVL 74

Expert Comment

by:Glen Knight
ID: 35489399
Sounds like you are blacklisted.  See alanhardisty's guide on how to check/resolve this: http://www.experts-exchange.com/Software/Server_Software/Email_Servers/A_2427-Problems-sending-mail-to-one-or-more-external-domains.html

It could simply be down to a DNS configuration error which you may need to resolve before you follow the above.  To check your DNS is configured correctly follow my guide here: http://www.experts-exchange.com/Software/Server_Software/Email_Servers/Exchange/A_2370-Exchange-DNS-Configuration.html

Expert Comment

ID: 35489477
You may not have a reverse DNS record setup for your public IP address. You can test this by sending to ISP email accounts (they usually reject or mark emails as spam when sent via IP address that has no reverse DNS). To test, you can try enabling smarthost to send via your ISP (ie. mail.isp.com). This can be setup via the exchange management console under transport.

Author Comment

ID: 35490042
Thanks for your Aid.

Can i create a smarthost only for the receivers Domain?
for example: all mails to @domain1.com shall be send thru the smarthost "smarthost1"
All other shall be send thru the standart send connecor wich has the value "SMTP:*"

In this case i could make a solution for this Mail receiver.

becouse my server is a network wich cant have mx-records from his ISP

Can this be done?
Making Bulk Changes to Active Directory

Watch this video to see how easy it is to make mass changes to Active Directory from an external text file without using complicated scripts.

LVL 74

Accepted Solution

Glen Knight earned 1000 total points
ID: 35490081
Yes of course, when you create the send connector under the address space section just enter domain1.com and give it a lower number value than the regular send connector.

This way whatever settings you apply to this send connector will only apply when sending to this specific domain.

Author Comment

ID: 35490128
I Try this out!
I come back with the result asap.

Thank you in advance!

Expert Comment

ID: 35490921
If the amount of emails being sent from that server is not large, you should just configure it to use a smart host and not send using the SBS send connector (this will avoid any further issues when users try to send to other domains that they haven't sent to before). Generally, ISPs only block access to their mail server when a large amount of emails come through from one customer (IP address). So if it's less than 50 emails per hour on average, you should be ok (you might have to check with the ISP for the limits to confirm). When people get emails from your server, it'll appear the same way as sending using the "SBS send connector" but the routing info will reference the ISP's mail server (so there is no problem there).

Featured Post

Simplify Active Directory Administration

Administration of Active Directory does not have to be hard.  Too often what should be a simple task is made more difficult than it needs to be.The solution?  Hyena from SystemTools Software.  With ease-of-use as well as powerful importing and bulk updating capabilities.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

You finally migrated Public Folders to Office 365, decommissioned the Public Folder mailbox database and since then, when you send an email from on-premise to mail-enabled Public Folders, you get the following error: "Misconfigured public folder mai…
In my humble opinion (IMHO), TouchDown from Symantec is the best in class for this type of application, but Symantec has end-of-lifed it and although one can keep using it, it will no longer be supported or upgraded.  Time to look for alternatives t…
To show how to generate a certificate request in Exchange 2013. We show this process by using the Exchange Admin Center. Log into Exchange Admin Center.:  First we need to log into the Exchange Admin Center. Navigate to the Servers >> Certificates…
The video tutorial explains the basics of the Exchange server Database Availability groups. The components of this video include: 1. Automatic Failover 2. Failover Clustering 3. Active Manager
Suggested Courses

580 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question