BlackBerry Enterprise Server

Is there an IT policy we can use that prevents users from making changes in the settings on their hand held such as preventing location services from being disabled?
LVL 6
fluk3dAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
MikeConnect With a Mentor IT ProfessionalCommented:
I see what you are saying....

Im afraid this is just the way it is for now.....until a newer version of BES is available where hopefully they will fix this....
0
 
MikeIT ProfessionalCommented:
Yes.  You can set an IT policy to do this....

Follow this link for more info

http://www.besadmin.info/KB14430/How-to-control-location-based-services-on-the-BlackBerry-smartphone
0
 
fluk3dAuthor Commented:
Thanks for the reply,

Although I did testing with that policy however; users can turn off location services if they go back into the settings of the phone. I am trying to avoid users disabling this feature
0
Get expert help—faster!

Need expert help—fast? Use the Help Bell for personalized assistance getting answers to your important questions.

 
MikeIT ProfessionalCommented:
Disable the section all together......they wont be able to even get into the area that allows you to change it.
0
 
fluk3dAuthor Commented:
Ok, how do I do that?
0
 
MikeIT ProfessionalCommented:
Through the BES Admin......
0
 
fluk3dAuthor Commented:
I'm running BES 5.0.3 so which IT Policy are you referring to, and where would I disable location services menu which subsection of which IT Policy?
0
 
MikeIT ProfessionalCommented:
Location Based Services > Disable BB Maps
Location Based Services > Enable Location Tracking
Location Based Services > Enterprise Location Tracking User Promprt Msg
Location Based Services > Ennt. Location Tracking Interval
Security Policy Group > Disable GPS

Software Config Policies:
Device GPS
0
 
fluk3dAuthor Commented:
Fantastic, I have already configured these options, and this is what happens.

Once I enable Enterprise location tracking AND Enable location tracking the user is prompted "would you like to enable location based tracking" user hits YES, and then location gps is enabled on the BB.

If the user goes into the settings on his BB and disables location tracking the IT policy is re-sent every 1hour to the BB and the user is prompted again, and we started the process all over again.

I'm trying to avoid the round-about way of having users "accidentally" disabling location services so I'm seeking if there is a way to disable users from changing the settings all together, or if I'm stuck having to deal with it the way it is.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.