delete Workflow columns

Isaac
Isaac used Ask the Experts™
on
I have workflows that I have deleted but the columns remain.  
Any ideas on how to permanently remove columns that show workflow progress?
Comment
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®

Commented:
Hello,
If you are using SharePoint 2010 you can do this using Power Shell:
http://get-spscripts.com/2011/01/delete-unused-workflow-status-columns.html

IsaacSharePoint Client Side Developer

Author

Commented:
unfortunately, it's 2007

Commented:
OK,
In this case you can try to delete the workflow association with the list (List Settings\Workflow) then the column for that association should be deleted.
Acronis in Gartner 2019 MQ for datacenter backup

It is an honor to be featured in Gartner 2019 Magic Quadrant for Datacenter Backup and Recovery Solutions. Gartner’s MQ sets a high standard and earning a place on their grid is a great affirmation that Acronis is delivering on our mission to protect all data, apps, and systems.

IsaacSharePoint Client Side Developer

Author

Commented:
Hi,

we did that but for whatever reason, it still shows.

Normally when we delete a workflow the column gets deleted too automatically, but it seems that older versions of the workflow, even deleted ones,
show up when we can build/modify views.  We can delete the list and start over but there is too much invested in it already.

It's weird!
Commented:
It's really weird,
Are you sure that all old versions of the workflow are removed from the list?
And no workflow is running on any item?
There is one more way to delete the column but it's more complicated...
You can use the STSADM Automation by Gary Lapointe:
http://blog.falchionconsulting.com/index.php/2007/09/delete-list-field/
Seelan NaidooMicrosoft Systems Admin

Commented:
modify the view and remove/unselect the workflow column...
IsaacSharePoint Client Side Developer

Author

Commented:
SeanUK777, I know that can be done but that's not what I'm trying to do.  When a workflow is deleted, it's supposed to delete the the status column also but in my case it's not.  It's just a nuisance.

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial