- SharePoint 2007
- Outlook 2007
When a SharePoint list task is assigned to someone, SharePoint issues an alert e-mail to the person that it was originally assigned to and the new person that it has now been changed to.
When the user clicks on "Connect to this Task List", it will automatically attach the list to Outlook and synchronizes all the items within the list. The result will be that it (the task list) will sit under the Tasks view, under Other Tasks. All the tasks will appear in the person's task view regardless of status and who its assigned to.
We noticed recently that a user, who only has read access in the list permissions, have been deleting tasks from his Outlook. After further investigation, we end up deleting this task list from Outlook and had to do it again a few days later.
Is it possible, to prevent them from clicking on "Connect to this Task List" for just this list as it's critical to the business? We still want them to receive the alert and get them to look into the list item, but without them deleting any items from within the list.
Can you please let me know if there is a solution to this problem?