Go Premium for a chance to win a PS4. Enter to Win

x
?
Solved

Prevent a Windows ICON from automatically updating

Posted on 2011-09-08
4
Medium Priority
?
332 Views
Last Modified: 2012-05-12
I have an application I maintain for a company.  The users run the application from an icon on their desktops.

Today I updated the application.  It is an Access application split into a database backend and an accde front-end.  I updated the front-end today.  The accde resides on the server and is run from there.
It is for a small shop generally 2-3 users at a time not much contention.

Steps I did today
Downloaded the new version with a temporary name (Dev_App.accde)
Moved the existing version to another directory
Renamed the new version (Prod_App.accde)
Relinked the tables to the database
Ensure permissions were set correctly

Had a user test the new version.
They got an error.
I checked their icon and it was now pointing to the old version in the new directory which they didn't have permissions to.
I fixed the icon to point to the correct version and starting directory and they ran fine

Why did the icon update?
Can it be set to not update since this is the way we will manage changes in the future?
I used the above method since we have had issues in the past with permissions and I had to revert to the older version.


mlmcc
0
Comment
Question by:mlmcc
  • 2
4 Comments
 
LVL 20

Accepted Solution

by:
marsilies earned 1692 total points
ID: 36513363
The "icon" is a shortcut, that points to a target. In this situation, it's using the Windows Distributed Link Tracking client and server services in order to track the original target file when you move it.

http://www.sevenforums.com/network-sharing/126501-can-i-disable-distributed-link-tracking-client-service.html
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/312403
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File_shortcut#Microsoft_Windows

One possible workaround would be to disable this service. However, that means shortcuts are more likely to break. Another option would be to change the steps you take:

Download the new version with the same name  (Prod_App.accde), but in a different directory (e.g. "Dev Folder").
Copy the existing version to another different directory (e.g. "Backup Folder")
Copy the new version to the original location, overwriting the old one.
Relink tables and ensure the permissions are set correctly.

Since the shortcut stays linked to the original file, and you overwrote it instead of moving it, the shortcut should still link to the new file.
0
 
LVL 101

Author Comment

by:mlmcc
ID: 36514129
I figured that would probably be the way to do it.  I just hadn't noticed that icons "self-updated" to follow the target.  I know other links don't like recent documents.  Or is that service only on servers and networked machines.

mlmcc
0
 
LVL 2

Expert Comment

by:nat_nz
ID: 36514854
right click the short cut, make read only
0
 
LVL 101

Author Comment

by:mlmcc
ID: 36584980
For future upgrades we will follow the recommendation to make a copy of the old rather than renaming it and do a direct replacement of the existing files

mlmcc
0

Featured Post

Microsoft Certification Exam 74-409

Veeam® is happy to provide the Microsoft community with a study guide prepared by MVP and MCT, Orin Thomas. This guide will take you through each of the exam objectives, helping you to prepare for and pass the examination.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

This article shows how to use a free utility called 'Parkdale' to easily test the performance and benchmark any Hard Drive(s) installed in your computer. We also look at RAM Disks and their speed comparisons.
Sometimes clients can lose connectivity with the Lotus Notes Domino Server, but there's not always an obvious answer as to why it happens.   Read this article to follow one of the first experiences I had with Lotus Notes on a client's machine, my…
With the advent of Windows 10, Microsoft is pushing a Get Windows 10 icon into the notification area (system tray) of qualifying computers. There are many reasons for wanting to remove this icon. This two-part Experts Exchange video Micro Tutorial s…
This is used to tweak the memory usage for your computer, it is used for servers more so than workstations but just be careful editing registry settings as it may cause irreversible results. I hold no responsibility for anything you do to the regist…

971 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question