Windows backup files - deleting and moving (win server 2008 r2)

From the windows backup utility in windows server 2008 r2 there is no option to delete a scheduled backup file. Is it save to just delete it?

If I am not wrong when a backup file is deleted on the next schedule a backup utility will just make a new full backup of the scheduled plan.

When moving to a different location is probably the same..
mertezAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
grayeConnect With a Mentor Commented:
No, deleting the backup file will not switch the next backup from incremental (or differential) to a full backup.

Most folks only delete a backup file until *after* another backup is performed (and verified).  So, that you don't delete a good backup before starting a potentially bad backup attempt.
0
 
mertezAuthor Commented:
If I have incremental option enabled. What happens then when I delete the windowsimagebackup folder on the disc? Will be the next backup corrupted?
Do you maybe know how to validate a win backup?
0
 
grayeCommented:
I'm not certain, but I'd expect that the backup would immediately fail.... rather than appear to work and result in a corrupted backup

But, you're mixing two different backup techniques together in this question, so I'm a bit confused.   There are 2 techniques for performing backups... the "traditional" way, which allows for "full", "incremental", etc., and the newer "image" backup which always does a "full-equivalent" backup of everything on the drive.  Which are you referring to?
0
 
mertezAuthor Commented:
When I mentioned the "incremental option" I was thinking about choosing the option "faster backup performance" where it writes that the backups are provided as the differences beetwen the last backup and current data . If I understand well the option "normal backup performance" it should do incremental backups too, but it transfer the entire source and not just the differences like in the previous option. Size on the disk are for both of these options the same, they differ just in how much data is transfered from the source. So if I get it right both of these options are incremental and if they are runned twice they will not occupy twice the space but just the differences will be added to the first backup..






0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.