• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 335
  • Last Modified:

Deleting User from AD

Does deleting a user from AD in SBS 2003 also delete their home directory files automatically? I'd probably prefer that it didn't delete their files now that I think about it - just in case we need to go back and take a look for something...
2 Solutions
I do not believe so, that just deletes the account and the files should be deleted from the server itself, and I would take a copy of the users data and archive before deleting the AD account anyway
Deleting an AD account does not remove their home folder or any files.  it will remove the users maibox form Exchange, however.  if you must delete the account, make sure you export the user's mail box to a pst before you do.  Most clients of mine will create another OU for disabled user accounts, and move old users accounts to that OU after the account has been disabled.
mikealsweilerAuthor Commented:
Thanks Taco. We've got a Exchange DB and deleting some long gone staff account will help free some space on the DB. I'm guessing moving a user to a different OU on AD will not delete the mailbox from Exchange?

I think what we'll probably do is export mailboxes to PST (using EXMERGE?) and then delete the accounts and mailboxes, leaving the user files untouched should we need them in the future. Unless you've got a better (and no doubt more expert!) suggestion?
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

Free Tool: IP Lookup

Get more info about an IP address or domain name, such as organization, abuse contacts and geolocation.

One of a set of tools we are providing to everyone as a way of saying thank you for being a part of the community.

Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now