In WMP 12, I have only set one Default Save Filename, which is on a different partition. I have unchecked about all that I could as far no Internet updates, information, etc. However, after closing it down for a while, and then openning it back up, it goes through and "Updates Media Information." It then shows a duplicate for each of the songs. If I close it down and restart within a minute or so, the "duplicates" are gone, leaving only those songs which are in the seperate partition, which is also where the actual songs are located.
I have my UAC accounts on a seperate drive as well. What is actually occuring and how can I keep this always happening when I restart it after being shutdown for a while?