Can I trust postmaster @ windowslivemail.com?

Posted on 2011-09-18
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2012-05-12
Hi Folks,

Are emails received from postmaster @ windowslivemail.com fraudulent or not? I searched the Net but couldn't find anything conclusive.

I noticed differences between the postmaster mails but the sender was identical each time. I first did a search on this board ofcourse but couldn't find a single article or whatsoever.

Furthermore, MS Smartscreen filter selects some postmaster mails fraudelent but not all. This is confusing me since the sender is the same imho.

Another issue here is that those postmaster mails always demand you to verify or deny something. And I don't hold track of all modifications for which I am responsible.

I assume that if the postmaster mails originated from MS, they would all be trusted by their Smart Screen filter, right? Surely something triggers it to flag some of those mails and apparently it's not the sender's address?

The only other thing I can come up with is that the sender's address, can be fiddled with, in order to trick the Fools Majority (of which I'm chairman) and gain access to their accounts and stuff?

Thanks in advance, if you need more info please ask.


Btw I'm on Windows XP using a live.nl address or is that needless to say?
Question by:PeterdeB
  • 2
LVL 37

Assisted Solution

by:Neil Russell
Neil Russell earned 1000 total points
ID: 36556184
They are fake, spam, phishing emails
Delete them
dont answer them
LVL 39

Accepted Solution

BillDL earned 1000 total points
ID: 36557014
Agreed.  A "postmaster" email is intended to be informational, not interactive, and you should never be prompted to click on anything to "correct" an issue.

I assume that you googled something like:
postmaster@windowslivemail.com phishing scam fraud spam
and saw a great many questions, and an even greater number of unqualified answers by the "fools majority" ;-)

The actual content of the email will usually give the game away.
What exactly was the nature of the email?

Simply to tell you that an email message had not been delivered for some reason?

If that was the case, then you would expect to see this clearly indicated in the message along with an error code and reason and probably a few suggestions about the possible reason for non-delivery.  Sometimes these "postmaster" messages about delivery failures will have links to FAQ on the ISP's website, but you can usually hang the mouse over the link and see the URL down in the Status bar.  If you can's see the full URL, then Right-Click the link > Copy Shortcut > Paste into Notepad.  The presence of uniquely identifying numbers after a normal .com URL should be treated as suspicious until you know otherwise.  If the "link" is a button, or an image, then don't touch it at all, even with the Right-Click.  You will have no idea what will happen until it does if you click a button.

Was this a message from "Customer Support" prompting you to change your password following a request from you to do so, eg. "I forgot my password"?

If so, then do not use any links in the email to reset your password.  Log into your Live Mail account, locate the options to change the password, and do so yourself.  Consider setting a password duration if the option is provided (I can't remember).  While there, choose an alternative email address to which password reminders should be sent.  If this already has an email address other than your Live Mail email address, then you have proof that the email you received is a phishing scam.  Log back out then back in again with your new password and delete the email.

If the email content was about something else, then let us know and we should be able to give you some advice about how to identify if it is a scam or genuine and how to treat it.

Author Closing Comment

ID: 36557020
LVL 39

Expert Comment

ID: 36557073
Dank je Dweep. Tot ziens voor nu.

Featured Post

Keep up with what's happening at Experts Exchange!

Sign up to receive Decoded, a new monthly digest with product updates, feature release info, continuing education opportunities, and more.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Microsoft Outlook is not just an email client but it is full featured Personal Information Manager. But sometimes Outlook gets disconnected and you simply can’t access it. What steps can you perform before calling IT support? In this article we will…
Microsoft Outlook provides an easy way to recover permanently deleted items. When you empty the Deleted Items or simply deleted an Outlook data items using shift+Del key then it can be recovered using Registry Key settings.  Caution- Wrong Registry…
Exchange organizations may use the Journaling Agent of the Transport Service to archive messages going through Exchange. However, if the Transport Service is integrated with some email content management application (such as an anti-spam), the admin…
Look below the covers at a subform control , and the form that is inside it. Explore properties and see how easy it is to aggregate, get statistics, and synchronize results for your data. A Microsoft Access subform is used to show relevant calcul…
Suggested Courses

864 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question