[Okta Webinar] Learn how to a build a cloud-first strategyRegister Now

  • Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 2364
  • Last Modified:

Email Rejected 553


I have been trying to email someone and I keep getting the email back with the following email :

This is the Postfix program at host cust-smtp.fasthosts.net.uk.

I'm sorry to have to inform you that the message returned below could not be delivered to one or more destinations.

For further assistance, please send mail to <postmaster>

If you do so, please include this problem report. You can delete your own text from the message returned below.

                  The Postfix program

<recipientEMAILADDRESS.com>: host inbound.registeredsite.com[]
    said: 553 5.3.0 Rejected - see http://support.interland.com
    (in reply to MAIL FROM command)

what does this email mean?

Any help would be appreciated. the recipient does not know what this means.
3 Solutions
Robert St. GermainCommented:
It means your email was rejected by the recipient's mail server.

I would guess that they are using an antispam software, and your email server has been blacklisted.

a good tool to check this, is at the following:


Let me know if this helps!


have you used telnet to try and send an email? Usually this gives a better understanding on what the issue may be.
gisvpnAuthor Commented:
Thanks Robstg.. Looks like the server is blacklisted by three people

Get quick recovery of individual SharePoint items

Free tool – Veeam Explorer for Microsoft SharePoint, enables fast, easy restores of SharePoint sites, documents, libraries and lists — all with no agents to manage and no additional licenses to buy.

gisvpnAuthor Commented:
My email is provided by a hosting company.

Should I contact them to deal with this; is there anything they can do?
Robert St. GermainCommented:
Yes, this would be their issue to resolve.


Sudeep SharmaTechnical DesignerCommented:
>>>  (in reply to MAIL FROM command)

Well I think they are rejecting your domain or the email address which is being used. Because if they would have rejected you on the basis that your email server IP is listed on various RBLs then your ISP would not be able to make connection to them.

If you know how to work with telnet you would see once you are connected to the remote server and type ehlo yourdomain.com it would give you prompt 220 now here you would try mail from:<emailaddress@yourdomain.com>.

Now this server is rejecting you at this point so clearly its not because IP is blacklisted rather its because they are blocking the domain or email address.

I hope that would help.

gisvpnAuthor Commented:
Hi Sudeep,

could you please tell me how to do that with telnet please?


Since mxtoolbox shows that your IP's are blacklisted, your MAIL FROM: is not an issue here.

As Robstg said, you need to contact your email hosting provider.
gisvpnAuthor Commented:
Ok thank you papertrip

Featured Post

Concerto Cloud for Software Providers & ISVs

Can Concerto Cloud Services help you focus on evolving your application offerings, while delivering the best cloud experience to your customers? From DevOps to revenue models and customer support, the answer is yes!

Learn how Concerto can help you.

Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now