Re-enable sbs 2011 user without exchnage

Hi,


We recently disabled a user account, now we would like to enable the domain account in order that the user can have access to shared folders etc....however we do not want the user to recieve emails from the associated exchange account.
 
In exchnage 2010 when we click on a user mailbox we get an option to disable. The warning message is:
 
"disabling the mailbox will remove the Exchange properties from the windows user object and mark the mailbox in the database for removal"
 
To clarify - this removes the mailbox and exchnage account but the user can still log into the server?
 



Thanks
sio2yAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
Exchange_GeekConnect With a Mentor Commented:
"disabling the mailbox will remove the Exchange properties from the windows user object and mark the mailbox in the database for removal"
 
To clarify - this removes the mailbox and exchnage account but the user can still log into the server?

To have a simple one line answer - the user account continues to prevail without any issues, only it is stripped out of Exchange stuff - thats it. User account is left untouched from his/her daily tasks in Active Directory.

Regards,
Exchange_Geek
0
 
David AtkinConnect With a Mentor Technical DirectorCommented:
I believe that the mailbox does get marked for deletion out of the database.  It wont actually delete it until the retention policy has been for filled.

See here:
http://blogs.technet.com/b/sbs/archive/2008/09/21/the-difference-between-disabling-and-removing-a-mailbox-in-exchange-2007.aspx

When I have wanted to do something simular in the past, I have either put a forward on to another mailbox or gave the user another fake email address to stop them from receiving mail (Deleted the original email address).

It may also work if you remove the Full Access permissions on the mailbox for that user/Self?
0
 
Hypercat (Deb)Connect With a Mentor Commented:
The effect of disabling the mailbox would be that the mailbox would be marked for deletion and subsequently deleted according to the retention schedule, as described by Scorpeo.  Also the mailbox would no longer be able to receive any email, internal or external.  If this is the desired outcome, then by all means go ahead and disable the mailbox.  However, if you want to preserve the mailbox contents for the future, I would suggest opening the mailbox first and exporting the contents to a PST just in case you need the contents at a later date.
0
 
sio2yAuthor Commented:
Thank You!
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.