Expiring Today—Celebrate National IT Professionals Day with 3 months of free Premium Membership. Use Code ITDAY17


exchange external email repeatedly blocked/undelivered

Posted on 2013-01-22
Medium Priority
Last Modified: 2013-02-13
Hello, there is a specific email address that is being returned from everyone who uses exchange. What can i do about this, where could it be getting blocked
Question by:mrbayIt
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
  • 4
  • 3

Expert Comment

ID: 38807980
You can check with your ISP first. Ask them to check the logs and see if they are blocking it at their router.
LVL 10

Expert Comment

ID: 38808393
Can you post the bounce messages they get? What's the smtp error code you see on these bounces? Is this email being routed via a contact object in AD? From the email server, can you successfully query for the MX record for that domain, and telnet to that server on port 25?

Accepted Solution

mrbayIt earned 0 total points
ID: 38811868
Delivery has failed to these recipients or groups:

A problem occurred during the delivery of this message to this e-mail address. Try sending this message again. If the problem continues, please contact your helpdesk.

Diagnostic information for administrators:

Generating server: inbound.school.org

#< #5.0.0 X-Spam-&-Virus-Firewall; host presencelearning.com[] said: 550-Please turn on SMTP Authentication in your mail client, or login to the 550-IMAP/POP3 server before sending your message. 550-apsaccess.school.org (inbound.school.org) 550-[]:11275 is not permitted to relay through this server without 550 authentication. (in reply to RCPT TO command)> #SMTP#

Original message headers:

X-ASG-Debug-ID: 1358895570-03ba457845e8e700001-06K9AX
Received: from webmail.school.org
 (exchange.school.local []) by
 inbound.school.org with ESMTP id THieUuIF2DVpgvcL for
 <christy.levine@presencelearning.com>; Tue, 22 Jan 2013 14:59:30 -0800 (PST)
X-Barracuda-Envelope-From: admin@school.org
Received: from exchange.school.local ([::1]) by
 exchange.school.local ([::1]) with mapi id 14.01.0218.012; Tue,
 22 Jan 2013 14:59:30 -0800
From: admin <admin@school.org>
X-Barracuda-Apparent-Source-IP: ::1
To: "'christy.levine@presencelearning.com'"
Thread-Index: Ac349CF0YdEiNX6FRFaJ8gKJEJm/ng==
Date: Tue, 22 Jan 2013 22:59:29 +0000
Message-ID: <A6463C0491A4354BA5787C6DB517DE72140CAC55@exchange.school.local>
Accept-Language: en-US
Content-Language: en-US
x-originating-ip: []
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
MIME-Version: 1.0
X-Barracuda-Connect: exchange.school.local[]
X-Barracuda-Start-Time: 1358895570
X-Barracuda-URL: http://barracuda.school.local:80/cgi-mod/mark.cgi
X-Virus-Scanned: by bsmtpd at school.org
X-Barracuda-Spam-Score: 1.30
X-Barracuda-Spam-Status: No, SCORE=1.30 using global scores of TAG_LEVEL=1000.0 QUARANTINE_LEVEL=1000.0 KILL_LEVEL=5.0 tests=HTML_MESSAGE, MISSING_SUBJECT, MISSING_SUBJECT_2
X-Barracuda-Spam-Report: Code version 3.2, rules version
      Rule breakdown below
       pts rule name              description
      ---- ---------------------- --------------------------------------------------
      0.00 HTML_MESSAGE           BODY: HTML included in message
      0.01 MISSING_SUBJECT        Missing Subject: header
      1.28 MISSING_SUBJECT_2      Missing Subject: header
Technology Partners: We Want Your Opinion!

We value your feedback.

Take our survey and automatically be enter to win anyone of the following:
Yeti Cooler, Amazon eGift Card, and Movie eGift Card!

LVL 10

Expert Comment

ID: 38811955
So people inside your organization are trying to send emails to @presencelearning.com, these emails are intended to go out your exchange server but then you get a hard bounce.

Do you have a specific send-connector on exchange for this domain?

What's interesting is that mx records for presencelearning.com point to google (google apps, postini) but your exchange server is trying to connect to (sanjose.accountservergroup.com) which requires to be authenticated before it allows you to send any email. Here's a test I did myself:

220-s2-sanjose.accountservergroup.com ESMTP Exim 4.80 #2 Wed, 23 Jan 2013 13:07
14 -0800
220-We do not authorize the use of this system to transport unsolicited,
220 and/or bulk e-mail.
helo mail1.test.com
250 s2-sanjose.accountservergroup.com Hello mail1.test.com [x.x.x.x]
mail from: <alert@school.org>
250 OK
rcpt to: <jessie.james@presencelearning.com>
550-Please turn on SMTP Authentication in your mail client, or login to the
550-IMAP/POP3 server before sending your message.  (mail1.test.com)
550-[x.x.x.x]:44674 is not permitted to relay through this server without
550 authentication.

Open in new window

can you do an nslookup as follows on your exchange server?

set type=mx

and show me what you get?

Author Comment

ID: 38812070
wow sir you are a true exchange admin. Thank you for your help thus far.

We have a barracuda spam filter that intercepts all traffic to deal with spam. i am not sure if we have a send connector for exchange, if you tell me how i can find out for you.

Here is what i got from that test you ask me to run

Non-authoritative answer:
presencelearning.com    MX preference = 20, mail exchanger = ALT1.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE
presencelearning.com    MX preference = 30, mail exchanger = ALT2.ASPMX.L.GOOGLE
presencelearning.com    MX preference = 10, mail exchanger = ASPMX.L.GOOGLE.com
presencelearning.com    MX preference = 40, mail exchanger = aspmx2.googlemail.c
presencelearning.com    MX preference = 50, mail exchanger = aspmx3.googlemail.c

Author Comment

ID: 38815684
any update sir?
LVL 10

Expert Comment

ID: 38817014
Sorry for the delay,

Can you repeat your nslookup query without the 'server' line? Didn't mean to add it on my previous request.

set type=mx

Your barracuda seems fine, it's not the problem.

Did you inherit this system or did you set it up? Is the domain presencelearning.com affiliated to your company at all?

On your Exchange Console, can you expand the Organization->Hub Transport, go to 'Send Connectors' and for every Connector you see on that tab, right click, go to properties, and go to 'address space'. See if any of them refer to presencelearning.com or  or sanjose.accountservergroup.com?

Author Closing Comment

ID: 38883806

Featured Post

Looking for the Wi-Fi vendor that's right for you?

We know how difficult it can be to evaluate Wi-Fi vendors, so we created this helpful Wi-Fi Buyer's Guide to help you find the Wi-Fi vendor that's right for your business! Download the guide and get started on our checklist today!

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

This article lists the top 5 free OST to PST Converter Tools. These tools save a lot of time for users when they want to convert OST to PST after their exchange server is no longer available or some other critical issue with exchange server or impor…
There are times when we need to generate a report on the inbox rules, where users have set up forwarding externally in their mailbox. In this article, I will be sharing a script I wrote to generate the report in CSV format.
In this video we show how to create a mailbox database in Exchange 2013. We show this process by using the Exchange Admin Center. Log into Exchange Admin Center.: First we need to log into the Exchange Admin Center. Navigate to the Servers >> Data…
Exchange organizations may use the Journaling Agent of the Transport Service to archive messages going through Exchange. However, if the Transport Service is integrated with some email content management application (such as an antispam), the admini…
Suggested Courses

718 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question