Link to home
Create AccountLog in
Avatar of TacomaVA
TacomaVA

asked on

GP 2010 Upgrade - Ok to Delete Old Users?

I upgraded a client to GP 2010 from GP 9.0 and in doing so, elected not to transfer over the security settings.  New users were created for GP 2010 and are currently being used.

I would like to remove the old users from the database.  Is there any reason for me not to remove the old users?  Can I remove them via MS SQL or do I need to do something special via GP 2010?

Thank you!
Avatar of Steve Endow
Steve Endow
Flag of United States of America image

Hi,

I can't think of any technical reason why you would need to retain the old users in GP.  The only thing that comes to mind might be some type of audit requirement that would require you to retain the accounts and perhaps disable them instead of deleting them--but I am not personally aware of any such standard audit requirement.

If the old users are still listed in GP, I would recommend deleting them through the GP user interface if you don't have a ton of users.  This would remove them from the GP security tables and remove their SQL user records from all of the SQL databases at the same time.  It's simple and clean, although a bit tedious to delete them one at a time.

If you have 75 or 100 or more users, then I could see doing it via SQL.  If you use SQL Management Studio, you'll need to remove the database users, remove the server logins, and then delete the user records in the GP database(s).

Looks like there are user ID related records in DYNAMICS in SY01400, SY01402, SY01403, SY01404, SY01600, and several others.  So it will take a little bit of up front work trying to figure out all of the tables that you would need to clean up.

SELECT * FROM INFORMATION_SCHEMA.COLUMNS WHERE COLUMN_NAME LIKE '%USERID%' ORDER BY TABLE_NAME


Thanks,

Steve Endow
Dynamics GP Certified Trainer
Dynamics GP Certified IT Professional
Avatar of TacomaVA
TacomaVA

ASKER

Thanks Steve.  I attempted to delete one of the old users via GP 2010, which worked, but I received a message notifying me that the user did not have a SQL login.  I opened SQL Management Studio and the user is still listed under Security -> Users and they have an entry in the Schema folder as well.

Can I delete the user and schema entry via SQL Management Studio without causing any harm?
ASKER CERTIFIED SOLUTION
Avatar of Steve Endow
Steve Endow
Flag of United States of America image

Link to home
membership
Create an account to see this answer
Signing up is free. No credit card required.
Create Account
Thanks Steve - I did not transfer over the users.