• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 595
  • Last Modified:

Exchange PowerShell: List SMTP E-Mail address from a Distribution List in a defined format

I need to extract following information from a Distribution List:

 - Primary SMTP Address of ManagedBy object
 - All SMTP addresses of all members of the distribution list


then I need to have the following format of the output

--------------------------------------------------------output.txt--------------------------------------------------------
SMTPAddress1Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress2Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress3Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress1Member2 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress2Member2 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
--------------------------------------------------------output.txt--------------------------------------------------------

Example output.txt file:

Mark.Henderson@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
M.Henderson@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Mark.H@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Lisa.Simpson@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
L.Simpson@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Lisa.S@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Michael.Kight@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
M.Kight@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Michael.K@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com

Open in new window



I know this sounds very tricky, but maybe someone coded this one already :-)

Thanks for any help!
0
whenz
Asked:
whenz
  • 2
  • 2
1 Solution
 
SubsunCommented:
By PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject, do you mean the PrimarySMTPAddress of the group?
0
 
whenzAuthor Commented:
No, I mean the primary SMTP Address of the ManagedBy Attribute.  Please see the attached example, I would need the primary SMTP address of user "povici"
EE-screenshot.jpg
0
 
SubsunCommented:
Try..
$Group = "Group Name"
$ManagedBy = (Get-Mailbox (Get-DistributionGroup "Group Name").ManagedBy).PrimarySmtpAddress.ToString()

Get-DistributionGroupMember $Group | % {

Add-Content C:\Group.txt "$($_.PrimarySmtpAddress.ToString()) $ManagedBy"

}

Open in new window

0
 
whenzAuthor Commented:
Subsun you're a wizard, thank you indeed!!!
0

Featured Post

Evaluating UTMs? Here's what you need to know!

Evaluating a UTM appliance and vendor can prove to be an overwhelming exercise.  How can you make sure that you're getting the security that your organization needs without breaking the bank? Check out our UTM Buyer's Guide for more information on what you should be looking for!

  • 2
  • 2
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now