• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 598
  • Last Modified:

Exchange PowerShell: List SMTP E-Mail address from a Distribution List in a defined format

I need to extract following information from a Distribution List:

 - Primary SMTP Address of ManagedBy object
 - All SMTP addresses of all members of the distribution list


then I need to have the following format of the output

--------------------------------------------------------output.txt--------------------------------------------------------
SMTPAddress1Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress2Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress3Member1 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress1Member2 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
SMTPAddress2Member2 PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject
--------------------------------------------------------output.txt--------------------------------------------------------

Example output.txt file:

Mark.Henderson@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
M.Henderson@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Mark.H@gmail.com JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Lisa.Simpson@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
L.Simpson@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Lisa.S@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Michael.Kight@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
M.Kight@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com
Michael.K@gmail.com  JunkAdmin1@gmail.com

Open in new window



I know this sounds very tricky, but maybe someone coded this one already :-)

Thanks for any help!
0
whenz
Asked:
whenz
  • 2
  • 2
1 Solution
 
SubsunCommented:
By PrimarySMTPAddressOfManagedByObject, do you mean the PrimarySMTPAddress of the group?
0
 
whenzAuthor Commented:
No, I mean the primary SMTP Address of the ManagedBy Attribute.  Please see the attached example, I would need the primary SMTP address of user "povici"
EE-screenshot.jpg
0
 
SubsunCommented:
Try..
$Group = "Group Name"
$ManagedBy = (Get-Mailbox (Get-DistributionGroup "Group Name").ManagedBy).PrimarySmtpAddress.ToString()

Get-DistributionGroupMember $Group | % {

Add-Content C:\Group.txt "$($_.PrimarySmtpAddress.ToString()) $ManagedBy"

}

Open in new window

0
 
whenzAuthor Commented:
Subsun you're a wizard, thank you indeed!!!
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

The 14th Annual Expert Award Winners

The results are in! Meet the top members of our 2017 Expert Awards. Congratulations to all who qualified!

  • 2
  • 2
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now