AD Domain Policy still applied to a server removed from a AD Domain

If a server was once joined to an Active Directory Domain and had certain policies applied and then removed from the domain--are all policies reverted back to default, or simply removed as well as, is it possible for these settings to remain on the server once it gets removed and re-booted?  The reason I ask is, I have an application in which it has been recommended by the manufacturer to first remove it from a domain if an upgrade is needed to eliminate the chance of AD GPOs impacting the upgrade process.  But, I get people who state after removing the server, it still has problems and must still have policies applied. Is this possible?  I know it may depend on what was applied in these GPOs such as registry settings etc. but can a server be impacted after it removed from the domain?  I have ran gpresults after removal and it states no policies applied as well.  Thanks!
ehouser_paralleltechAsked:
Who is Participating?

[Product update] Infrastructure Analysis Tool is now available with Business Accounts.Learn More

x
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Nick RhodeIT DirectorCommented:
Yes those settings will stick until you moved it out of the policy then do an update.  This way it reverts all settings back to not configued.
Mike KlineCommented:
There are some settings that will be "tatooed" so even after the policy is removed the actions will not be reverted.  More on that here   http://gpoguy.com/whitepapers/understanding-policy-tattooing/

Thanks

Mike
ehouser_paralleltechAuthor Commented:
So, to confirm what you are saying, the proper removal process is to move the server to an OU which blocks inheritance, update the gp settings (gpupdate /force), remove the server from AD and reboot?  Otherwise, if the server was just dis-joined from the domain through the regular process, all the settings from any GPOs previously used will still remain?  Thanks!
Nick RhodeIT DirectorCommented:
Exactly

When moved to block inheritance OU, doing a gpupdate /force will reset all the settings back to Not Configured.

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Active Directory

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.