Strange Excel problem

I have 2 users sharing an Excel work book file not at the same time but one user addes data saves it. They can close it and reopen it and the changes are there but another user opens it and doesn't see the new changes. Its on a Network share. Is there some new feature in Excel they could have turned on I don't know about that maybe only displays changes the one user made. Other than that I can't figure it out.
LVL 2
Axis52401Security AnalystAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
gurutcConnect With a Mentor Commented:
Hi,
This can happen for a couple of reasons, SMB2's offline caching is one.  But also you should set the file work book as shared.

In the file, go to review tab, you can see the share and protect options.

You need to configure these.  Clici Protect and Share workbook and then check sharing with track changes.

Also SMB2 might be causing the PCs from not properly updating the network location in a timely fashion.  I'd turn it off on the server and workstations.

Instructions for turning off SMB2 are given in this Microsoft KnowledgeBase article: "How to enable and disable SMBv1, SMBv2, and SMBv3 in Windows Vista, Windows Server 2008, Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 R2, Windows 8, and Windows Server 2012" http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2696547

- gurutc


<<The site is on a campaign to improve thread quality and Google page rank by eliminating blind links. A blind link is one that has no accompanying text other than possibly a "See here" or similar. Blind links are subject to deletion when encountered in a question thread, but I felt the subject matter was germane to the discussion, and so added the type of text (shown in italics above) that we'd like to see accompany a link.
byundt--Microsoft Excel Topic Advisor>>
0
 
KimputerCommented:
You can try to open the file at the same time. If Excel doesn't warn you, it means the sharing function has been enabled. It's my experience, this sharing function is prone to data corruption, and showing different user different data. In this case I would DISABLE this function, and continue as you did before (users never open at the same time).
0
 
gurutcCommented:
will follow guidance byundt!
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.