?
Solved

Delete Vmwar snapshots

Posted on 2013-10-30
13
Medium Priority
?
271 Views
Last Modified: 2013-11-01
That s what snapshot Manager is showing:

server.domain.com
server.domain.com_vm-2647_1
You are here


If I understand when I access the VM machine, I am accessing both the content the base machine and the delta file contents, I could be wrong, I might be accessing for now just the contents of the base machine: server.domain.com

My question if I delete the snapshot server.domain.com_vm-2647_1, would it merge with the base machine :server.domain.com ?

Thanks
0
Comment
Question by:jskfan
[X]
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
  • 7
  • 6
13 Comments
 
LVL 123

Assisted Solution

by:Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert / EE MVE^2)
Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert / EE MVE^2) earned 2000 total points
ID: 39612679
Yes, if you delete snapshot server.domain.com_vm-2647_1, it will merge with the Parent disk.

see my EE Article for more details

HOW TO: VMware Snapshots :- Be Patient
0
 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39613305
so how to revert back to server.domain.com, and get rid of the snapshot as it is not needed, and it is just taking extra space.
0
 
LVL 123
ID: 39613512
Highlight the server.domain.com snapshot in Snapshot Manager, and select Go To.

This will Revert you to server.domain.com, once reverted back to this time, you can then delete the snapshot you do not require.
0
How Blockchain Is Impacting Every Industry

Blockchain expert Alex Tapscott talks to Acronis VP Frank Jablonski about this revolutionary technology and how it's making inroads into other industries and facets of everyday life.

 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39615848
But when I highlight server.domain.com, all the buttons like GoTo, delete,etc...are grayed out.

the buttons will show up enabled when I highlight :
server.domain.com_vm-2647_1
0
 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39616364
I guess that s where the confusion is:

the base image is vm.vmdk

for instance,
1- I create the first snapshot and name it : beforefirstpatch110113
this will create Vm000001vmdk and start writing changes to it.

then starting deploying the patch and making changes, to my understanding all the changes will be written to vm00001.vmdk which is in fact the physical file of the "beforefirstpatch110113"

now if the patch did not work well, and start seeing issues on the VM, at this point are we going to select Delete to delete the beforefirstpatch110113 snapshot, or are we going to select Goto beforefirstpatch110113 ?

to my understand delete and Goto, both will merge the content of the snapshot to the base image. and we do not want Vm000001vmdk which is the physical file of (beforefirstpatch110113) to be merged to the base image.

how would we do that?

Thanks
0
 
LVL 123
ID: 39616410
Some of the Confusion, is because really the word DELETE should be called MERGE! (sometimes!).

I guess that s where the confusion is:

the base image is vm.vmdk

for instance,
1- I create the first snapshot and name it : beforefirstpatch110113
this will create Vm000001vmdk and start writing changes to it.

then starting deploying the patch and making changes, to my understanding all the changes will be written to vm00001.vmdk which is in fact the physical file of the "beforefirstpatch110113"

CORRECT.

now if the patch did not work well, and start seeing issues on the VM, at this point are we going to select Delete to delete the beforefirstpatch110113 snapshot, or are we going to select Goto beforefirstpatch110113 ?

If you DELETE the current snapshot, it will me MERGED with the parent disk. So your current machine will have all the broken patches.

You will need to REVERT (GoTo) the Previous Snapshot. You are here, is where you currently are! When you Revert (GoTo) it will state the Current State of Virtual Machine will be lost, unless it has been saved in a snapshot.

If you want to "travel" back and time between different states of a VM, before and after applying patches, create another Snapshot!
0
 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39616453
I know you are Expert in Vmware, but I believe the first snapshot created and displayed in Snapshot Manager represents the VM.vmdk and not the VM000001.vmdk
because when you select GoTo the first snapshot, it will stay displayed in Snapshot Manager, but the vm000001.vmdk file will be deleted....

if you highlight the first snapshot and select delete, the snapshot will disappear from the snapshot manager , and the contents of VM00001.vmdk will merge with vm.vmdk file, and the vm00001.vmdk will be deleted

in one of the links you posted it talks about:  delta.vmdk file
I do not know if it is different than the vm00001.vmdk
0
 
LVL 123
ID: 39616466
Snapshot Manager only shows and links to Snapshots, which are...0001, 0002.vmdk etc If you look at the very top (root) this represent the VM without a snapshot. e.g. check a machine with no snapshots, You are Here....is the parent virtual machine disk (vmdk).

if you look at the virtual machine settings, and virtual hard disk, you can easily tell which snapshot is being written to by the VM. Because the snapshot appears as the disk

e.g. 0001, 0002.vmdk

see my EE Article on Snapshots above.

if you highlight the first snapshot and select delete, the snapshot will disappear from the snapshot manager , and the contents of VM00001.vmdk will merge with vm.vmdk file, and the vm00001.vmdk will be deleted

CORRECT

delta.vmdk is an old term, which acually means the 0001 files are the child delta files.
0
 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39616482
Ok...hopefully this is my last comment before i close the thread.

when you have just one snapshot...then you Highlight it
if you select GoTo or delete....both ways will merge the changes to the original image?
0
 
LVL 123

Accepted Solution

by:
Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert / EE MVE^2) earned 2000 total points
ID: 39616532
only DELETE will merge! (and delete the snapshot delta file!)

Try It!

Take a Single Snapshot, select GoTo?

Does it remove/delete the snapshot?
0
 

Author Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39616665
I will set up the lab this week end and learn how snapshots work,,,,
0
 

Author Closing Comment

by:jskfan
ID: 39616670
Thank you
0
 
LVL 123
ID: 39616689
Be cautious about using Snapshots in Production, they can catch you out, and then can be EVIL!
0

Featured Post

Get free NFR key for Veeam Availability Suite 9.5

Veeam is happy to provide a free NFR license (1 year, 2 sockets) to all certified IT Pros. The license allows for the non-production use of Veeam Availability Suite v9.5 in your home lab, without any feature limitations. It works for both VMware and Hyper-V environments

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

When converting a physical machine to a virtual machine using VMware vCenter Converter Standalone or vCenter Converter Enterprise, if an adapter type is not selected during the initial customization the resulting virtual machine may contain an IDE d…
Last article we focus in how to VMware: How to create and use VMs TAGs – Part 1 so before follow this article and perform the next tasks, you should read the first article how to create the TAG before using them in Veeam Backup Jobs.
Teach the user how to edit .vmx files to add advanced configuration options Open vSphere Web Client: Edit Settings for a VM: Choose VM Options -> Advanced: Add Configuration Parameters:
Teach the user how to install log collectors and how to configure ESXi 5.5 for remote logging Open console session and mount vCenter Server installer: Install vSphere Core Dump Collector: Install vSphere Syslog Collector: Open vSphere Client: Config…
Suggested Courses

764 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question