Improve company productivity with a Business Account.Sign Up

x
  • Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 558
  • Last Modified:

Skydrive Pro Size Limits

I see that Skydrive Pro comes with 25GB of storage space per user however how does the "Shared with everyone" folder play with that size limit?  Is the 25GB per user for files stored outside the "Shared with everyone" folder?  Is there a different size limit for the "Shared with everyone" folder ?
0
ptsolutionsinc
Asked:
ptsolutionsinc
  • 5
  • 4
2 Solutions
 
MacroShadowCommented:
25GB includes all folders.
0
 
ptsolutionsincAuthor Commented:
So if employee A moves their Dropbox data (25GB) into his Skydrive Pro "Shared with Everyone" folder, the 25GB will only consume his allotment of the 25GB limit?  He will no longer be able to add more data, however, employee B, C and D can add more files to the "Shared with Everyone" folder?

If this is correct, then the "shared with everyone folder" can technically have 100GB of storage consumption if there are 4 accounts.
0
 
MacroShadowCommented:
A. “Everyone” in this context means only people in your organization. It excludes external users.

B. Each person has his or her own “Shared with Everyone” folder in their SkyDrive Pro library. In other words, files I place in my “Shared with Everyone” folder won’t appear in your “Shared with Everyone” folder. If I want to see the files you’ve shared with everyone using this method, I actually need to look in your “Shared with Everyone” folder.

from: http://community.office365.com/en-us/blogs/office_365_community_blog/archive/2013/07/15/ways-to-quot-share-with-everyone-quot-in-skydrive-pro.aspx
0
Get expert help—faster!

Need expert help—fast? Use the Help Bell for personalized assistance getting answers to your important questions.

 
ptsolutionsincAuthor Commented:
Ok, I get it now.  Now I have a situation.  I did a migration yesterday from Google Apps and Dropbox to Office 365 with two users.

The two users stored their files on Dropbox and whenever someone did a change to a file, the other person can see the updated file.

When I migrated the Dropbox folder into employee A's "Shared with Everyone" folder, I thought it would eventually sync with employee B's "Shared with Everyone" folder.  So come Monday morning, employee B will have an empty folder, correct?

Is there a way to sync employee A's "shared with everyone" folder on employee B's computer so they can work locally on their computer as they did with Dropbox?
0
 
MacroShadowCommented:
Employee B can access employee A's "shared with everyone" folder, so although it won't be in their folder they will be seeing the updated files.
0
 
ptsolutionsincAuthor Commented:
employee B will see employee A's shared files automatically on their local PC without any configuration?
0
 
MacroShadowCommented:
In the above link you will find two ways to access someone else's "shared with everyone" folder
0
 
ptsolutionsincAuthor Commented:
Now I have another problem.  when employee B visits the Skydrive Pro web portal and clicks on shared with me, we see the following message "This view cannot be displayed because it exceeds the list view threshold (5000 items) enforced by the administrator"

All we did was copy and paste from Dropbox, so customer is going to say, it worked in Dropbox but not in Skydrive?
0
 
MacroShadowCommented:
Another problem, another question.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

Get expert help—faster!

Need expert help—fast? Use the Help Bell for personalized assistance getting answers to your important questions.

  • 5
  • 4
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now