You have been logged on with a temporary profile, after renaming the user profile in windows 7
Posted on 2013-11-14
We use windows 7 on our client PCs. I have to install an application on this PC for a user and within this application I have to set up a location for the files to be retrieved from a shared drive by the application.
For some reasons the settings for the shared drive was not getting saved, when I close and reopen this application. I thought it could be a profile problem and gave the full permissions for this user on his profile, even in spite of doing this the settings doesn’t get saved.
We use a local profile system. So went into safe mode and renamed the profile as .old and logged in as this user and now it says:
You have been logged on with a temporary profile. You cannot access your files and the files created in this profile will be deleted when you log off.
I cant see any new profile created by this user name.
I shut down the computer several times and logged again as the user and I get the same message popping up.
We have many users who have been set up with this application and are using without any problems. I have a similar PCs and if I install the software on that PC and log in as this user, it is keeping all the settings and works fine.
So it is something to do with this particular PC. Any ideas will be really helpful.