Upgrading Wordpress after missing many updates

I have a WP site with about 25 modules (all up to date) but I want to upgrade the Wordpress site from 3.4.2 to 3.8.1.  I'm worried about issues arising.  Can I go here http://wordpress.org/download/release-archive/ and do the upgrades one by one?  ie. 3.5 to 3.5.1 to 3.5.2 and so on.  Will this minimize issues.

Also, can I go here http://codex.wordpress.org/Version_3.4.2 and just upload the files that have been Revised.  Will this cause the WP site to upgrade properly?

Am I being paranoid?
livewirewebsolutionsAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
Jason C. LevineConnect With a Mentor No oneCommented:
upgrades one by one?  ie. 3.5 to 3.5.1 to 3.5.2 and so on.  Will this minimize issues.

No.

just upload the files that have been Revised.  Will this cause the WP site to upgrade properly

Also no. In fact, that will likely break things.

First off, while 3.5 to 3.8 represents a lot of updates, it doesn't represent a lot of actual CHANGE in how wordpress does things so you are likely to be okay.  Still, if you are paranoid, do the following:

1) Do a full file and database backup of your current wordpress site
2) disable all plugins
3) upgrade wordpress to 3.8 and make sure the theme still works
4) re-enable plugins one at a time and test each one
0
 
Milind KoyandeConnect With a Mentor Commented:
I have faced same issue on one of my wordpress blog which was running version 3.4.2 or earlier versions. I have performed the following steps:

1) Take complete backup of the database and Wordpress Site
2) If you have control panel (like cpanel/plesk) take website backup
3) Disable plugins.
4) If you have any customization, please make note of it.
5) Disable all plugins
6) Update WP from "Update" option in wordpress.
7) After upgrade check if everything is working properly (not plugin settings)
8) Enable Plugins one by one.
0
 
livewirewebsolutionsAuthor Commented:
When you disable and then enable plugins do all your settings remain the same?
0
 
Jason C. LevineNo oneCommented:
They should.  Disabling just prevents the plugin from running but it should keep the settings intact.  When you update a plugin, it disables it, download, then re-enables.

If the plugin is poorly designed and un-registers on deactivation (instead of deletion), well...don't use poorly designed plugins.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.