Solved

Remove share associated permissions before deleting share

Posted on 2014-02-24
7
216 Views
Last Modified: 2014-02-27
Hello All,

me and co-worker have a bet to settle.

what happens if you delete a share before removing the associated permissions to that share? Does it affect anything? More importantly how does one tell if this has been done.
0
Comment
Question by:dfahie
  • 4
  • 3
7 Comments
 
LVL 31

Expert Comment

by:Frosty555
ID: 39883433
In Windows there are two different types of permissions and you have to be explicitly clear about which one you're talking about:

1) Share permissions, accessed by going to Properties->Sharing->Advanced Sharing->Permissions

2) Windows folder ACL, accessed by going to Properties->Security

When you delete a shared folder, the Share permissions are deleted along with it.

Windows Folder ACLs will remain.
0
 

Author Comment

by:dfahie
ID: 39883558
okay,

there is a home drive of a user that was created > right click new foler > user name > right click properties > sharing >share this folder ? type in the username with $ > hit permissions in that same window > add user with permissions.

then rigt click on the folder and go to properties > security > add same user..

so I told that is I  just right click on the home drive and delete it, there will be no trace of it?

I believe there is a way to find out if you did not remove the share permissions of that home drive before deleting it...

If this is the case then how can you tell?
0
 

Author Comment

by:dfahie
ID: 39883571
where would you go to see the ACL permissions that remaind if the folder was deleted? My impression would be there would be no where to look as the folder has been deleted.
0
Create the perfect environment for any meeting

You might have a modern environment with all sorts of high-tech equipment, but what makes it worthwhile is how you seamlessly bring together the presentation with audio, video and lighting. The ATEN Control System provides integrated control and system automation.

 
LVL 31

Expert Comment

by:Frosty555
ID: 39884493
The dialog box you're talking about (where you go to Right click->properties->sharing->share this folder), is just a friendly wizard that populates the "Advanced Sharing" section for you.

If you delete the entire folder the ACLs and the folder share permissions are both deleted along with it.The only way to recover that information that I know of is if you were to successfully undelete the folder using data recovery software.

If you just turn off sharing, then just the folder share permissions are deleted, but the ACLs remain (because the folder still exists).
0
 

Author Comment

by:dfahie
ID: 39884666
I agree,

there is a another system admin that told one of my other system admins that he noticed the share was deleted before the permissions were removed. He advised that you have to remove the permissions first, then delete the share. My question is how did he know that the other system administrator just deleted the share opposed to removing the permissions then deleting it... since the share is gone. I really do not think he did a restore,

Is there a log somewhere?
would there be something in the event log complaining about the permissions?

It just bothers me cause he will not tell us. I know he is not monitoring us cause he was unsure which of the 4 did it as they all use their own accounts, so that rules that out.

I want to know for myself as I like to share info.
0
 
LVL 31

Accepted Solution

by:
Frosty555 earned 175 total points
ID: 39886646
I couldn't tell you 100% that there is NO evidence anywhere on the system of the existence of the share. Perhaps there are some event logs or metadata elsewhere on the system that might allude to the shared folder's existence and could be used to forensically determine if the share existed or what it's permissions were.

.... but it definitely doesn't matter for any practical reason. There certainly is no practical difference between delete the share permissions first before deleting the folder vs just deleting the folder. When Windows deletes the folder it unshares it as part of the process of deleting the folder. The end result is exactly the same.

The admin isn't making any sense to me, it sounds like he's fussing over nothing. Or maybe I'm not hearing the whole story.
0
 

Author Comment

by:dfahie
ID: 39891016
I think you are right, he is fussing over nothing. I did talk to him and it took some time to get it out of him but how he found out was when he rebooted the server, it tried to map the share on boot up and then is when it started to complain.. I cannot see this happening but I could be wrong. Does this make sense?
0

Featured Post

Flexible connectivity for any environment

The KE6900 series can extend and deploy computers with high definition displays across multiple stations in a variety of applications that suit any environment. Expand computer use to stations across multiple rooms with dynamic access.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

This article describes how to use the Send to Mail Recipient command. The instructions apply generally to Office 2007 and later versions, but Microsoft® Word 2013 was used for the specific steps and figures.  What is Send to Mail Recipient? Send…
Today companies are subjected to more-and-more data, and it won't stop any time soon.  But there are obvious opportunities for reducing data, particularly data duplicated among companies.
This video shows where to find the word count, how to display it, and what it breaks down to in Microsoft Word.
The viewer will learn how to create a normally distributed random variable in Excel, use a normal distribution to simulate the return on an investment over a period of years, Create a Monte Carlo simulation using a normal random variable, and calcul…

829 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question