Why does My Site delete from sharepoint when user is assigned to a different OU in Active Directory

Hello

We use windows server 2008 and sharepoint 2010.

Recently an account was moved from the All Corporate Users OU in Active Directory to another OU called Office 365 Users.

When that happened, the manager of the staff in question received the following email:
____________________________________

From: administrator@example.ca
Sent: Saturday, March 01, 2014 01:49 AM
To: [Manager Name]
Subject: The My Site of [User Name] is scheduled for deletion

The My Site of [User Name] is scheduled for deletion in 14 days. As their manager you are now the temporary owner of their site. This temporary ownership gives you access to the site to copy any business-related information you might need. To access the site use this URL: http://sharepoint/my/[User Name]
____________________________________________________

The user can still access sharepoint, as well as mysite.

I've looked in the sync settings for SharePoint, it is syncing with the domain. I couldn't find anywhere that it was specifying an OU.

I want members of All Corporate Users and Office 365 Users to work with our local sharepoint 2010 and members of Office 365 Users can use Office 365 via single sign on.

Why did the manager received this message and how do I fix it?
LVL 2
itkadminAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
Justin SmithSr. System EngineerCommented:
When a user changes OU's, they get a new Distiguished Name in Active Directory.  This makes SharePoint think that it's a completely new user and the previous user has been deleted.  

If I were you I'd do the following:

1. Backup all user MySites
2. Disable the MySite Clean Up Job (from Central Admin - Job Definitions)
3. Kick off a full Profile Sync (from Central Admin - User Profile App)
4. After the sync completes, kick off another Full Sync
5. After the second sync completes, go the User Profiles in the Profile App and click the drop down to "Missing".  Verify none are missing.
6. Re-enable the MySite Clean Up Job (if you wish)

Worst case the job deletes the MySIte, but you can just restore it.
0
 
itkadminAuthor Commented:
Thanks.

I did all this. No Profiles are missing in step 5.

Why 2 profile syncs?

As for the MySite Clean Up Job.  Do you have a recommendation as to weather it should run or not?
0
 
Justin SmithSr. System EngineerCommented:
I don't have a recommendation, just depends on your needs.  It's helpful in some situations, and in some it's not needed.

It takes 2 profile syncs to correctly mark / unmark missing profiles.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.