Some changes were made in the sharing and security of our network folders and I am unable to restore them to allow the sharing and security settings that were originally in place.
A drive was set up on a Windows 2008 server to allow various types of sharing. We want to allow a user to access their folder, add/delete/modify files and folders within their folder but no one else’s.
H:\Sharing is set to full for everyone
Users\ (Security) is set to ‘inherit’, -Read – Write (when I remove ‘write’, no one can save to their own folder but when write is added, any user can access all folders)
MSMITH\ (Security) is set to modify for msmith only.
What is the proper way to set this up? Is there a roll-back for these settings in 2008 server? THANKS