Solved

I have a domain user acct on a Server 2012 VM that's joined to a domain. Will I lose the domain acct if I remove the server from the domain?

Posted on 2014-03-20
7
270 Views
Last Modified: 2014-03-20
Hello,

I know this was the case on older operating systems. Wasn't sure if things have changed over the past several years. We have done a lot of work under a domain account but I must resolve an issue by removing and re-adding a 2012 server to our domain. If I lose that domain account during the process, we would have to do the work over again...which would put us behind several days.

Any help would be great.

-Dave
0
Comment
Question by:mangamonster
  • 3
  • 3
7 Comments
 
LVL 13

Expert Comment

by:Santosh Gupta
ID: 39942329
Hi,

How many domain controller do you have ?
is replication working properly ?

if you have more than 1 domain controller and replication is working fine then you will not loose any domain account. after removing the 1 domain controller.

Note: Make sure you are not removing the server which has/holds any or all FSMO Role.
0
 

Author Comment

by:mangamonster
ID: 39942353
Sorry - I should have mentioned that this server is a member of the domain only.
0
 
LVL 13

Accepted Solution

by:
Santosh Gupta earned 350 total points
ID: 39942379
If it the only member server then you will NOT loss any Domain account. :)
0
Free learning courses: Active Directory Deep Dive

Get a firm grasp on your IT environment when you learn Active Directory best practices with Veeam! Watch all, or choose any amount, of this three-part webinar series to improve your skills. From the basics to virtualization and backup, we got you covered.

 

Author Comment

by:mangamonster
ID: 39942462
ok, so when I rejoin my server to the domain, I can log back into the user's domain profile and none of the data will be lost?
0
 
LVL 13

Expert Comment

by:Santosh Gupta
ID: 39942551
yes,
0
 
LVL 2

Expert Comment

by:dalberson
ID: 39942963
Santosh is correct. When you remove the machine from the Domain, the account information is still on the machine. It will show as a SID until you rejoin the machine to the domain.

Once you rejoin the machine to the domain, the SID will be recognized, and you can use the logon normally. All security settings will be retained on the machine for this SID.
0
 

Author Comment

by:mangamonster
ID: 39943453
Thanks, guys. I'll go ahead and move forward!
0

Featured Post

PRTG Network Monitor: Intuitive Network Monitoring

Network Monitoring is essential to ensure that computer systems and network devices are running. Use PRTG to monitor LANs, servers, websites, applications and devices, bandwidth, virtual environments, remote systems, IoT, and many more. PRTG is easy to set up & use.

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Understanding the various editions available is vital when you decide to purchase Windows Server 2012. You need to have a basic understanding of the features and limitations in each edition in order to make a well-informed decision that best suits y…
When you upgrade from Windows 8 to 8.1 or to Windows 10 or if you are like me you are on the Insider Program you may find yourself with many 450MB recovery partitions.  With a traditional disk that may not be a problem but with relatively smaller SS…
This tutorial will walk an individual through the process of configuring basic necessities in order to use the 2010 version of Data Protection Manager. These include storage, agents, and protection jobs. Launch Data Protection Manager from the deskt…
With the advent of Windows 10, Microsoft is pushing a Get Windows 10 icon into the notification area (system tray) of qualifying computers. There are many reasons for wanting to remove this icon. This two-part Experts Exchange video Micro Tutorial s…

828 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question