Riverbed Configuration Erase

Hello Experts,

Can someone let me know now to erase the configuration on Riverbed Steelheads?

Cheers

Carlton
cpatte7372Asked:
Who is Participating?
 
SuncoreConnect With a Mentor Commented:
Hi Carlton,

Are you looking to factory reset the unit ?  If so, here is the Riverbed knowledgebase solution on how.  If I misunderstood the question, please post back to clarify and I will try and help.

Rgds,
Suncore



Resetting a Steelhead, CMC or SMC to the factory default and removing all data

To reset an appliance to its original (factory) settings and remove all current configurations, use the reset factory CLI command. This is a hidden command that can only be used on the CLI via SSH or serial console. This command restores the default host name (amnesiac), login (admin) and password (password). It also clears all message logs, the interface counters and the data store.

For an SMC, the reset factory command removes all system log files, endpoint reports, and polices from the appliance. For a CMC, the command also removes all Steelhead configurations.

You can use the reset factory command when you move a Steelhead to a different network environment to avoid conflicts with existing Steelheads and to prevent any setup issues.

IMPORTANT: The reset factory command shuts down the appliance on completion. To reboot the appliance after all configurations have been deleted, use reset factory reload:

SH > enable
SH # reset factory reload

WARNING: DO NOT use reset factory remotely unless:

    you have some way of powering the machine back on, and
    you have access to the serial console, otherwise you will not be able to reconfigure the appliance

In most cases, you should use the reset factory reload command.

Licenses

Beginning with RiOS versions 4.1.8, 5.0.6, 5.5.1 and 6.0, reset factory preserves the primary licenses by default. To delete licenses, use the command reset factory clear-licenses. As a best practice, back up license information by copying the output of the show licenses command. You can also always find licenses for your assets in the Account > Assets section of the Riverbed Support site.

Deleting sensitive data

The reset factory command clears the data store and builds a new one after the factory reset, but it does not wipe the disk. If you are concerned about sensitive data on your hard disk, see the article Completely Erasing the Hard Disk Data for more information.
0
 
cpatte7372Author Commented:
Cheers
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.