• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 295
  • Last Modified:

2008 Mac Book Pro-needs disk repair and XP OS removal

I have a Mac Book Pro, 15-inch Early 2008, Processor  2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo, 250 gig of storage with the latest Mac OS. In 2008, I needed Parallels Desk top and XP. Now I do not, so I removed both the Pararrells Desktop program and the XP OS by moving them into Trash. It runs fine, but when I run the Disk Untility, it tells me "this Disk needs repair using the Recovery HD-(won't this just reset the Mac to where it was before I sent the App and OS to Trash?)  What is the proper way of removing those two items?

Second, I bought this computer from the company I worked for at the time-I'd like to eliminate the old administrator and other profiles, short of wiping the Disk and Reformatting, are there any other ways to do this,

Thanks, jim signaigo
0
jacs55
Asked:
jacs55
1 Solution
 
Eoin OSullivanConsultantCommented:
Jim

1. You cannot run the REPAIR function in Disk Utility on the same HD that you are running the active Operating System from ... this is why you need to boot from the recovery partition.  If you do boot from the recovery partition and run Disk Utility then as long as you only run the REPAIR option you'll not delete anything, it'll simply repair the disk (if anything needs to be repaired).
If you put Parallels and the disk image in the trash and emptied the trash .. that is all you need to do.  There are some settings, preferences and other associated files from Parallels which are still sitting in your user and system Library folders but they are harmless and can be deleted but will not affect your system one way or another.
Repairing the HD is not required and has nothing to do with deleting Parallels.

2. In the system preferences .. you should see a pane called 'Users & Groups'.  As long as the user you are currently logged on to the system has "administrator' permissions then you can delete all other user accounts you do not want.  A default mac system only needs one Administrator level user account and a guest account .. all other users accounts are probably redundant.  As part of the deletion process you can choose to backup the contents of that user account to a file (which you can backup) or you can simply trash it completely.
0
 
jacs55Author Commented:
Thank you, I'll try that.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

Easily Design & Build Your Next Website

Squarespace’s all-in-one platform gives you everything you need to express yourself creatively online, whether it is with a domain, website, or online store. Get started with your free trial today, and when ready, take 10% off your first purchase with offer code 'EXPERTS'.

Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now