outgoing mail problem

I have just relocated my email server to another location and have another isp. I have changed my MX records to point to the new IP and I am now receiving email but on some address that I send to I receive the below error in outlook as a return incomming email, more or less immediately after sending.

Sent by Microsoft Exchange Server 2007

Diagnostic information for administrators:

Generating server: eqexchsrv.xxrthquip.com.xx

Requested #554 Transaction failed ##

Original message headers:

Some other emails I have sent to myself at a gmail account worked fine?

I changed the mx records late Friday and it is now Monday lunchtime, does it just need more time to go through or do I have some other problem?
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
Here is a copy of another error while sending to a hotmail address

Delivery has failed to these recipients or distribution lists:

Phusita Charukulsint
An error occurred while trying to deliver this message to the recipient's e-mail address. Microsoft Exchange will not try to redeliver this message for you. Please try resending this message, or provide the following diagnostic text to your system administrator.

The following organization rejected your message: COL004-MC5F34.hotmail.com.


Sent by Microsoft Exchange Server 2007

Diagnostic information for administrators:

Generating server: eqexchsrv.xxrthquip.com.xx

COL004-MC5F34.hotmail.com #550 OU-002 (COL004-MC5F34) Unfortunately, messages from weren't sent. Please contact your Internet service provider since part of their network is on our block list. You can also refer your provider to http://mail.live.com/mail/troubleshooting.aspx#errors. ##

but if I do a check with http://www.dnsbl.info/ I get all green lights for my ip?

Are these two error's the same issue or are there two issues at work here?
554 usually comes  on four situations
1. The IP that you are using was used in the past by a spammer and lot of the sites have blacklisted it. (here is where you check it out (http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx)
2. Your IP that is given is a dynamic allocation or the ISP is not telling the world that they have given a static assignment to the business customer. Here is how you check that here (http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/)

Once you got thru the first two steps here are smaller nuances
1. Check if the reverse dns of the ip address is matching with the mail-server name (here is where you check it: http://mxtoolbox.com/ReverseLookup.aspx)
2. Make sure that the SPF record in your domain is updated with the new IP address.

Once these steps are done, you should see the emails going out much better than what they are now (atleast I am positive that the 554 would fade out)
Seth SimmonsSr. Systems AdministratorCommented:
the first item above is your problem
that ip address appears on 2 black lists
Ultimate Tool Kit for Technology Solution Provider

Broken down into practical pointers and step-by-step instructions, the IT Service Excellence Tool Kit delivers expert advice for technology solution providers. Get your free copy now.

RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
Then I have the problem due to using cable, I have found out that it has a semi perminant ip. (ip can change after 24hrs of no use or power).
I have spoken with my ISP any they advise that there are no other options. Cable is all can get it cable at this address.

Is it possable to use an cloud based spam fiter to filter my incoming and outgoing email, thus also giving me a better outgoing business ip from the cloud?

Can anyone think of any other solution as this is a big problem for me.
RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
Using a Smart Host seems to be the answer I am looking for.

Could this fix also solve my Exchange server problem? You bet. Tell your Exchange server to forward all mail to a smart host upstream, which happens to be a Bigpond mail server, and good old Telstra handles my mail for me, once again, no authentication required and basically performing an open relay service. OK, no doubt Telstra is going to claim this is all kosher because it knows who I am since I dialled the telco, and should I start spamming it can shut me down


anybody know how this is done?
RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
OK figured it out myself and it seems to work...

in the exchange 2007 console under Organizational configuration/Hub Transport/Send connectors tab
right click on "internet mail connection" and select properties then goto network tab.
under Route mail through the following smart hosts click add
type the name of your isp's mail connector, in my case it is mail.bigpond.com, bigpond being my isp

Now I can once again send emai to hotmail and anyone else without problem.

Surprised no one else on here had this answer.

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
Seth SimmonsSr. Systems AdministratorCommented:
not all people have a smarthost available through their ISP
quite frankly it isn't the most common thing since your issue was pretty straight-forward in terms of being blacklisted and experiencing those errors.  typically an administrator would work to resolve any blacklist problems
we don't know your environment in that much detail and would have never known that a smarthost was available through your service provider
RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
I accepted my own comment for as the solution as it works.
RapidityAUAuthor Commented:
The blacklist was due the to cable internet connection not having a permanent IP. Expert exchange user ambatihp had it spot on in his point 2.

quote: 2. Your IP that is given is a dynamic allocation or the ISP is not telling the world that they have given a static assignment to the business customer. Here is how you check that here (http://www.spamhaus.org/pbl/)

The ISP has listed the whole cable ip range in the blacklist and it can not be undone.
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Windows Server 2008

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.