Windows Permissions - File Share Permission

We have a client that had an employee be fired, the employee deleted all their files from a shared drive.

We had backups so we restored the files, but now the customer wants to make the entire file share only give users the option to change files and not delete it.

I am having issues getting this done.

1. No matter what special permissions I use, the user either cant save the file if they modify it, or they can save and delete the file.
2. If a user creates a file and save it into the drive, then the file has that user on it as full permissions by default.  The properties from the folder above populates down, but adds the user that created it to the folder.

My question is, how does everyone do this?  My suggestion was to have a monthly backup.  It will keep 28 revisions in the cloud so thats 28 months worth on top of the daily backup that is done.

Any suggestions to how we may do this or what is best practice?
LVL 1
considerscsAsked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Joseph MoodyBlogger and wearer of all hats.Commented:
You would want to change the creator/owner permission so that they don't have the delete folder/delete file option.

I honestly think your method of backing up and restoring is better. Removing the delete option will be a huge hassle and will lead to file system bloat as users stop cleaning up old stuff.
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
considerscsAuthor Commented:
Joseph,

Thanks for the information.  You are exactly right in what my thinking is.  I don't like the option of not being able to delete as users cant clean up and from what I have seen so far, temp files arent deleted either.

Thanks for the suggestions.  I am trying to push them to just the backup option.
0
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Active Directory

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.