SPF failure

Hi Guys,

I am getting this issue

Why did SPF cause my mail to be rejected?

What is SPF?

SPF is an extension to Internet e-mail. It prevents unauthorized people from forging your e-mail address (see the introduction). But for it to work, your own or your e-mail service provider's setup may need to be adjusted. Otherwise, the system may mistake you for an unauthorized sender.

Note that there is no central institution that enforces SPF. If a message of yours gets blocked due to SPF, this is because (1) your domain has declared an SPF policy that forbids you to send through the mail server through which you sent the message, and (2) the recipient's mail server detected this and blocked the message.

mail1.telegael.com rejected a message that claimed an envelope sender address of leighdoyle@iradio.ie.

mail1.telegael.com received a message from relay.interpoint.ie ( that claimed an envelope sender address of leighdoyle@iradio.ie.

However, the domain iradio.ie has declared using SPF that it does not send mail through relay.interpoint.ie ( That is why the message was rejected.

If you are leighdoyle@iradio.ie:

iradio.ie should have given you a way to send mail through an authorized server.

If you are using a mail program as opposed to web-mail, you may need to update the "SMTP server" configuration setting according to your ISP's instructions. You may also need to turn on authentication, and enter your username and password in your mail program's options. Please contact your ISP for assistance.

If you run your own MTA, you may have to set a "smarthost" or "relayhost". If you are mailing from outside your ISP's network, you may also have to make your MTA use authenticated SMTP. Ideally your server should listen on port 587 as well as port 25.

If your mail was correctly sent, but was rejected because it passed through a forwarding service, as an interim solution you can mail the final destination address directly (it should be shown in the bounce message). See the forwarding best practices (or refer the recipient there) for the discussion of a proper solution.

If you need further help, see our support section for free support and professional consulting services.

If you are confident that your message did go through an authorized server:

The administrator of the domain iradio.ie may have incorrectly configured its SPF record. This is a common cause of mistakes.

Here's what you can do: Contact the iradio.ie postmaster and tell them that they need to change iradio.ie's SPF record so that it authorizes relay.interpoint.ie. For example, they could change the record to something like

v=spf1 include:spf.protection.outlook.com a:relay.interpoint.ie -all
If you refer your postmaster to this web page, they should be able to solve the problem.

If you did not send the message:

SPF successfully blocked a forgery attempt; someone tried to send mail pretending to be from leighdoyle@iradio.ie, but the message was rejected before anybody saw it. This means SPF is working as designed.

Do i need to get my hosting provider to add that last line in??
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Adam FarageEnterprise ArchCommented:
I would contact your hosting provider, but I don't think your SPF is invalid. Your SPF record is calling out two records:

- spf.protection.outlook.com which is for Office 365
- relay.interpoint.ie, which his obviously your mail relay product

What I think is happening here is that the company you is not understanding that relay.interpoint.ie is actually on the SPF (which is valid, I checked). I suppose you can fix this by changing the SPF to include the IP of relay.interpoint.ie but that IP needs to be static (as shown above). The BIND DNS command would look like this, and if you send it to your provider they should understand it:

iradio.ie.  IN TXT "v=spf1 mx a ip4: a:spf.protection.outlook.com include:relay.interpoint.ie -all"

Open in new window

This is something you should discuss with them, as this is a weird situation. The domain complaining about this has the name listed on the SPF record, so *shrugs* I am kinda lost.

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
Gareth GudgerCommented:
@Adam Shouldn't "a:spf.protection.outlook.com"  be "include:spf.protection.outlook.com"?
Adam FarageEnterprise ArchCommented:
in theory, what I wrote above is the BIND command for it (include didnt work in my linux lab).
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.