Solved

Restore MacBook Pro to clean start for new user

Posted on 2014-12-23
4
223 Views
Last Modified: 2014-12-23
I got a MacBook Pro that was upgraded to the OS Yosemite. I don't like the Mac's and I want to restore it back to a clean start for someone else. There is no OS software with it. How can I do this on a Mac?
0
Comment
Question by:jdrakesmyth
[X]
Welcome to Experts Exchange

Add your voice to the tech community where 5M+ people just like you are talking about what matters.

  • Help others & share knowledge
  • Earn cash & points
  • Learn & ask questions
4 Comments
 
LVL 11

Accepted Solution

by:
rharland2009 earned 500 total points
ID: 40515422
The MBP has a built-in recovery disk.
Walkthrough:

http://support.apple.com/kb/PH18869?viewlocale=en_US
0
 
LVL 53

Expert Comment

by:strung
ID: 40515438
If there is any sensitive data on the disk, when you are erasing the disk, you might want to go to  "Security Options" and choose Zero Out All Data.
0
 

Author Closing Comment

by:jdrakesmyth
ID: 40515475
Thanks. Hope this works & then I am back to Windows. It was a good machine I just didn't like the OS
0
 
LVL 29

Expert Comment

by:serialband
ID: 40515480
If you don't need that much security, it's usually a bit faster to run the command line, if you don't need to delete the OS or zero out the entire disk.  This is much quicker than the secure delete when you're cleaning it for internal use.  I would also suggest doing this before running the Secure Empty Trash.
Open Terminal.app to run the commands.
cat /dev/zero > zerofile

when you're done, delete the file
rm zerofile

You can do it in a single go and remove it once the disk fills.
cat /dev/zero > zerofile; rm zerofile


It's also quicker to reset the system than to fully reinstall it, depending on exactly what you want.  If you don't have confidential information that needs to be deleted, then this is the fastest way.
sudo rm /var/db/.AppleSetupDone

After you remove the file, reboot and it will start the Apple Setup as if you were on a new system.  If you have software that gets copied to /Applications/, they will still run, except licensed, DRMed software.  Those need to be reinstalled.
0

Featured Post

PeopleSoft Has Never Been Easier

PeopleSoft Adoption Made Smooth & Simple!

On-The-Job Training Is made Intuitive & Easy With WalkMe's On-Screen Guidance Tool.  Claim Your Free WalkMe Account Now

Question has a verified solution.

If you are experiencing a similar issue, please ask a related question

Suggested Solutions

A lot of new and distinct gadgets are making their appearance every other day. The latest gadget that has wooed the attention of all gadget lovers and non gadget lovers alike is the Smartwatch. This tiny gadget is capable of offering live access to …
A professional opinion on which Apple product to buy, and a tidbit about the WWDC.
Exchange organizations may use the Journaling Agent of the Transport Service to archive messages going through Exchange. However, if the Transport Service is integrated with some email content management application (such as an antispam), the admini…
Finding and deleting duplicate (picture) files can be a time consuming task. My wife and I, our three kids and their families all share one dilemma: Managing our pictures. Between desktops, laptops, phones, tablets, and cameras; over the last decade…

734 members asked questions and received personalized solutions in the past 7 days.

Join the community of 500,000 technology professionals and ask your questions.

Join & Ask a Question