OS X Server (10.10) & Time Machine

I am using two Mac mini servers to act as time machine servers. Both have a DAS device for time machine backup storage.

Mac clients direct their backups to one of the two devices over the local LAN and authenticate via Active directory credentials.

I have never been able to get these to behave properly! The main problem is that time machine backups run every hour, on the hour (which can't be modified) and continue to run until the storage device is full. Time machine is supposed to automatically clear old backups to make room for new ones. If this is happening, it happens very slowly since users constantly get errors saying the disk is full. Also, I can't go in (from the server end) and clear old backups since the back up files are locked with the credentials of only the user who initiated it.

Does anyone know of a script or work flow that I could use to automatically clear old backups out of all the backup files on the storage device or a way I can at least do it manually from the server without getting bounced with "access denied" errors?

I'd be very interested to hear anyone else's ideas for successfully backing up 50+ Mac's over a LAN using time machine or some other comparable product.
bsgitofficeAsked:
Who is Participating?
 
strungCommented:
I would suggest you browse through the Pondini site:  http://pondini.org/OSX/Home.html

It is the best source of information about Time Machine.
0
 
strungCommented:
According to http://pondini.org/TM/C4.html

"The backup disk is almost full  (Snow Leopard 10.6.x and later)

You may see this warning the first time your backup disk gets near full:
All it means is, Time Machine will start deleting old backups soon.  When it does, if you have the Notify after old backups are deleted box checked in Time Machine Preferences > Options, you'll see the message in the blue box after the deletions.

Depending on the circumstances, you may not see this message before the one in the blue box.  If there's a lot of space left after one backup, the warning won't be sent -- but if the next backup requires too much space, that backup will have to start deleting old ones."
0
 
bsgitofficeAuthor Commented:
I assume this all applies when using OS X Server? By that, I mean I have two OS X servers configured for File Share and Time Machine services and all the Mac's on the floor backup to one of the two OS X servers over the LAN.

Do Macs backing up to a time machine server (NOT a time capsule) still get notified when old backups are deleted? I don't recall ever seeing that and I think that option is turned on by default.

Also, is there a way of suppressing the "Backup disk full" message?
0
 
strungCommented:
The Pondini article suggests it can be turned off in the TimeMachine prefs on the individual Macs.
0
 
bsgitofficeAuthor Commented:
Thank you!
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

All Courses

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.