We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

How do I restore a deleted contact in Outlook 2013

Occasionally I delete a contact in Outlook 2013. I can't figure out any way to restore it. Is there a way? Please note my Outlook 2013 is part of my Office 365 Business Premium subscription, in case that helps.
I think every time I do it is the same. I'm in  the Notes section of a contact, see something I want to edit and I hit the delete key on my keyboard and the whole contact disappears. There seems to be something counter intuitive here. I'm supposed to click on Edit before I edit.
Comment
Watch Question

JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)
Most Valuable Expert 2012
Expert of the Year 2018

Commented:
Deleted contacts, deleted calendar appointments and that stuff should end up in your Deleted Items folder. Did you check there?  Is Outlook set to delete Deleted Items on exit?  If so, the contact will be gone. If you delete the items in the folder yourself (as I do from time to time) then the contact will be gone.

Author

Commented:
There are lots of deleted emails in the deleted items folder but no deleted contacts.

Is Outlook set to delete Deleted Items on exit?
The only thing I can find along those lines is Prompt for Confirmation before Permanently Deleting. In the Outlook Options, Advanced tab
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)
Most Valuable Expert 2012
Expert of the Year 2018

Commented:
Can you try a test deleting a contact?  Copy a contact to a new contact, make a change, save it and then delete it. Does it land in Deleted Items?

Author

Commented:
You're right about the test! I did 2 tests and both ended up in deleted items. But the contacts I deleted a few days ago and one this morning are not there. Very odd! I was able to Move the test names to the Contacts folder and they appeared where they belong. So this proves your theory is right. But where is even the one from this morning I wonder.
Business Consultant (Owner)
Most Valuable Expert 2012
Expert of the Year 2018
Commented:
I am not sure what happened earlier but your contacts are gone at this point

Author

Commented:
I wonder do contacts only stay in the Deleted Items folder for a certain amount of time or until an event like shutting down.
Thanks for your help.
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)
Most Valuable Expert 2012
Expert of the Year 2018

Commented:
You are very welcome. I think deleted items stay until deleted. I never have that many but there may be an overall limit causing old deletions.
GMGeniusSoftware Development Manager/Developer

Commented:
Backup?

:)

Author

Commented:
GMGenius,
Why didn't I think of my backup! Anyway what I usually do when I accidentally delete a contact is immediately switch off my router so the deletion doesn't sync with my phone. Then I re-enter it from the phone before switching on the router again.
In my opinion there is a design issue. Because the cursor flashes when I click in the notes of a contact I instinctively assume I can edit and if I then hit delete, instead of deleting a letter or a word I actually delete the whole contact. Having to click Edit first isn't quite as instinctive.
A few months ago I googled the issue and found a lot of people seem to do exactly what I do and can't find where the contact has gone.