IP address is listed on spamrl.com

I have a client who has had intermittent trouble sending and receiving emails.  This morning I responded to one of his emails, and the response came back to me with the following error:

The following addresses had permanent fatal errors --- <email address>  reason: 550 IP address is listed on uce-dnsbl1.rbl.spamrl.com. Please organise removal and retry.

How can I deal with this on his behalf?  I checked his IP address at www.spamrl.com/lookup, and the results were mixed and "not blacklisted".
Who is Participating?

[Product update] Infrastructure Analysis Tool is now available with Business Accounts.Learn More

I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

Zephyr ICTCloud ArchitectCommented:
Sometimes it can be the anti-spam solution on the sender side, where the only solution is to add the recipient's domain in the white list and hoping this works because some SPAM solutions still block it ( do this only after making/being sure their network/server is indeed secure, naturally). Might also be that your client's provider's ip-range is in blacklist, where they intermittently end up because they have a lot of spammers on their range, good luck solving that one, just speaking of experience :)

But if they show up just one time as being blocked on the entire list, it's enough to cause trouble ... So either there is something wrong on their network/server or it's the ISP or it's the local (sender's) SPAM solution...
The issue is that your client is using the list to filter out emails  classified as "spam".  In the case your server is the one listed on the uce-dnsbl1.rbl.spamrl.com and not their server.

Double check whether they know they are using this RBL LIST in the first place. in either case there are better more responsive lists.

This list is based on honeypot email addresses and if a "sufficient" number  of emails receive an email from a server, that server could wind up on their list for a time.

In this case, your server seems to have wound up on the list.

See http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx and you might want to persuade your client to use other lists.

If the user has a Firewall that handles SMTP proxying and that is where the RBL list is being used, checking the log to see whether outgoing emails are being blocked by the RBL test and/or reviewing the configuration on whether the outgoing SMTP should be subjected to the RBL list after confirming and making sure that the internal Mail server is not an open relay.
lgottlieb45Author Commented:
Neither his domain  nor my domain show up as blacklisted at http://mxtoolbox.com/blacklists.aspx.  Plus, the IP address cited in the returned email is different from the ones that either his domain or mine resolve to, according to that same mxtoolbox website.  Is there a way to know to whom this cited IP address belongs?
The rejection is based on the IP from which the mail is being transmitted to the server that is issuing the rejection and not to the IP to which the domain resolves.

Using your mail server (if in house) go to whatismyip.com that is the IP that is being rejected.  does the error reflect the IP address that was rejected?

To resolve the issue, If the person uses an SMTP proxy, consider removing this list from the checks replacing it with other lists.

Yes, you can use arin.net to see to whom it is allocated.  It could be the external IP from which you were sending. i.e. you have IP1.  you send your email to your mail server that has IP2. That organization uses a centralized distribution such that all customer facing mail servers send to the central that has IP3. IP3 is the one being rejected and is the IP reflected.

Look in the NDR you received.  There should be Received: lines that indicate the flow
Received: Last entry
Received: First entry

tracing down the Received: lines retraces the flow of the message on how it got to where it is .

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
lgottlieb45Author Commented:
I wound up at uceprotect.net which showed that the IP address cited in the bounceback belongs to Network Solutions.  So I called them, and a very nice lady confirmed the subnet to be one of theirs and promised to get their engineers on it.  Thanks, Arnold!  I'll report here what I hear back from N.S.
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Email Protocols

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.