Citrix provisioning server

Hi

after i merged the v disk versions and i want to delete them i got this message

is there any way i can delete them without shutdown ?

please check the attached file

thanks

sword
pppppppp.jpg
LVL 1
sword12Asked:
Who is Participating?
I wear a lot of hats...

"The solutions and answers provided on Experts Exchange have been extremely helpful to me over the last few years. I wear a lot of hats - Developer, Database Administrator, Help Desk, etc., so I know a lot of things but not a lot about one thing. Experts Exchange gives me answers from people who do know a lot about one thing, in a easy to use platform." -Todd S.

CoralonCommented:
You need to see which of your devices is still booted up on that image.  
Check your device list, and it will show you the image they are booted up on.

Once you have them all rebooted, you should have no problem deleting the vdisk.

(I have been through exactly this)..

Coralon
0
sword12Author Commented:
Hi

how can check the device list

as you see in the attached file the production booted from the latest version

so what i can understand that i have to reboot the servers  then i can delete the old merged version or there another option

thanks
0
sword12Author Commented:
i just rebooted the servers

and now i can delete the old merged versions

so in my case every time i have to merge the old versions i have to reboot the servers to let them boot from the latest

then i can delete the old .

so no other option possible ?

thanks
0
Ultimate Tool Kit for Technology Solution Provider

Broken down into practical pointers and step-by-step instructions, the IT Service Excellence Tool Kit delivers expert advice for technology solution providers. Get your free copy now.

Dirk KotteSECommented:
it's not the default behaviour.
image versions no longer needed (maked with the red X) can be deleted without shutting down the server or the devices.
i think it is a bug.
Would suggest to check the latest patches.
Which version do you use?
0
sword12Author Commented:
we have xenapp 6.5
and provisioning server 7.1
0
CoralonCommented:
The image files will stay locked as long as a machine is booted up on them.
I don't have a PVS server to look at anymore (changed jobs).. but in the console, there is a place that has a list of all the devices and which image they are booted up on.  

However, if as dkotte mentioned, if none of them are showing booted up on the image you are trying to delete, then it is definitelya potential bug in the system. In that particular case, I'd trying deleting the physical files from the file system and see if the lock is maintained.   If the lock is maintained, its definitely a bug in the system.  If the lock is maintained, but the GUI still shows a lock, then there is a bug in the GUI, but not the entire system.

Coralon
0

Experts Exchange Solution brought to you by

Your issues matter to us.

Facing a tech roadblock? Get the help and guidance you need from experienced professionals who care. Ask your question anytime, anywhere, with no hassle.

Start your 7-day free trial
It's more than this solution.Get answers and train to solve all your tech problems - anytime, anywhere.Try it for free Edge Out The Competitionfor your dream job with proven skills and certifications.Get started today Stand Outas the employee with proven skills.Start learning today for free Move Your Career Forwardwith certification training in the latest technologies.Start your trial today
Citrix

From novice to tech pro — start learning today.

Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.