Link to home
Avatar of wannabecraig
wannabecraigFlag for Ireland

asked on

ESXi 5.5 Snapshot question

When I create a snapshot in snapshot manager I get the following tree showing SS manager

Machine name
                Snapshot name
                                 You are here

Then when I revert to a snapshot after a failed app install (by clicking on the snap and using the Go To Option) I still get the three objects in the tree.
I have to go and delete the snapshot in order for the snap I reverted to to disappear.

Is this correct?  After I revert to the snapshot the _00000 files still appear in the datastore, but they're one increment up so _00002 in stead of _00001. Is it normal?

Also, if I click revert to current snapshot, how's the different than 'Go To'?  Which option should I be using if I'm only taking one snapshot as a temp point for an app install Rollback?
Avatar of Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert PRO / EE Fellow/British Beekeeper)
Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert PRO / EE Fellow/British Beekeeper)
Flag of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland image

It depends if you want to Go To, or Rollback and Discard.

If you have failed to patch, you would Revert. and then delete/discard the snapshot (failed changes you don't want).
Avatar of wannabecraig

ASKER

ok, so if I have only one snapshot is 'Go To' and 'Revert' not the same thing?
Yes, if you only have one snapshot.

Revert is really a shortcut to "Go to the Parent" (parent of you are here).

Go To, activates the selected snapshot,  Go To is not limited to the parent snapshot of the current state, but any snapshot.
I've chosen 'revert' as the option, then deleted the snapshot.
The snap has disappeared from the 'snapshot manager' console but there are still the files machinename_000001.vmdk present on the server.  Is this a problem?
You can always check, if the Virtual Machine is writing to a snapshot still by checking the disks.

see my EE Article

HOW TO: VMware Snapshots :- Be Patient
I've moved large chunks of data around, from drive to drive, and when I've done this before I've see the _000001 drives grow, but not now, which would suggest that the drives are not being written to.

Is it safe to do a normal file delete?
NO NO NO, you cannot do a normal file delete.

You must delete the snapshot from Snapshot manager.

Check your virtual disk properties, see my EE article to check if the VM is in fact still writing to a snapshot delta disk.
HI,

The snapshot is deleted from snapshot manager, however the _00001 disks remain.
I have made several transfers to and from drives on the virtual machine & no files are been written to.
ASKER CERTIFIED SOLUTION
Avatar of Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert PRO / EE Fellow/British Beekeeper)
Andrew Hancock (VMware vExpert PRO / EE Fellow/British Beekeeper)
Flag of United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland image

Blurred text
THIS SOLUTION IS ONLY AVAILABLE TO MEMBERS.
View this solution by signing up for a free trial.
Members can start a 7-Day free trial and enjoy unlimited access to the platform.
See Pricing Options
Start Free Trial