Deleting Folders

AJ1978
AJ1978 used Ask the Experts™
on
Dear All

I hope you might be able to assist me, I had a user delete an entire folder by mistake today over the network form a shared drove on the network. Unfortunately I only back up every 12 hours so a days works was lost as it wasn't in either recycle bin, I want to know if it is possible at the route for the folder to stop all users from deleting folders or what would be best practice?

Thanks
Alex
Comment
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®
Distinguished Expert 2017

Commented:
Yes you can set permissions that would deny users delete rights(including rename)
Your best is to quickly run undelete/getdataback or use test-disk to see which files it can see and restore to a different location what can be restored.

How is the share deployed domain based share or server based shared, in a domain based shared, if you configured shadow copies, you might be able to restore the folder/files from that snapshot.

Time sensitive you should have already ran the undelete/recoveryon the server where the share resides......

Author

Commented:
The share is on a domain, permission I will worry about later but you mention undelete/getdataback is that a feature or is that software your suggesting?

Alex
IT Administrator
Commented:
Hello Alex,

Here is a link for you that you might consider for future use in case something like this happens again:

http://www.condusiv.com/business/undelete/server/

I have not used this software but I am considering purchasing it.
Just an FYI

--David
Distinguished Expert 2017

Commented:
It is software that needs to Be run on the server as soon as possible to avoid data loss following new writes overwrites the space where the files were.
Will SzymkowskiSenior Solution Architect
Most Valuable Expert 2015
Top Expert 2015
Commented:
from my understanding I would Undelete needed to be running before the delete happened. It then creates check points and you can recover from there. I did not think it would work after the the user has deleted something.

Another thing, I would not be using the "Deny" permissions. You can go into the Advanced Security options and and remove the "Delete" permission. This would be a better method then using "Deny". Deny is the most restrictive permission and I would avoid using this method anywhere when it comes to NTFS permissions.

Will.

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial