We help IT Professionals succeed at work.

Why location services cannot be switched off?

Nasser Salim
Nasser Salim asked
on
I have iPhone 6, the location services and share my location cannot be switched off. It seems that the iOS locked these two options. I have tried everything to switch it off but never succeed. The system already updated. I don't want to rest my phone. I also tried to rest the location services but the problem still exists. Please help.
Comment
Watch Question

Quality Assurance Engineer at Dassault Systemes
Commented:
Go to Settings.
Privacy.
Location Services.
Toggle off location services.
Additionally, you can look into System Services.

If you use an app that needs location services turned on, it will turn on again.  If you want to turn off location services for specific apps they should be available in that same location.  If you go to System Services you can see things at a more granular level of what System Services are being used on the iPhone.
Commented:
Go to Settings > General > Restrictions > Location Services (under the 'Privacy' heading)
Set anything in there to Allow Changes
Serena HsiMarketing Consultant
Commented:
The settings are in two places for iOS 9.3.5.

Settings / General / Restrictions (type in your pin if using) / Location Services / Allow Changes (enabled)

then, select Share My Location (toggle on/off)

-and-

Settings / Privacy / Location Services

.

If Share My Location is grayed out, it means that this is currently locked under Restrictions.

While you are in the Restrictions menu, scroll down until you see Share My Location (should show a lock symbol in gray), select that and switch from Don't Allow Changes to Allow Changes.
Commented:
Most commonly this issue is caused by Restrictions being on and changes to Location services  being disabled.

Go to Settings > General > Restrictions > Scroll down to the Privacy section and tap on Location Services and make sure Allow Changes has a check mark near it.

If Restrictions is on and you do not know the code to get in, the only option at that point is to restore your device and set it up as a New device or restore an older backup that was created before Restrictions were enabled.