Exchange forest functional level

Andy used Ask the Experts™
Hi All,
Exchange Server Supportability Matrix
says that Exchange 2016 CU3 and later support lowest forest functional level win 2008 R2 SP1.
I know that win 2008 r2 forest functional level exist but I never heard about 2008 r2 sp1 forest functional level.
I´m in proces of upgrading DCs to 2008 R2 SP1.
When I upgrade to 2008 r2 sp1 and demote old 2008 servers I presume that option 2008 r2 sp1 will be visible?
Watch Question

Do more with

Expert Office
EXPERT OFFICE® is a registered trademark of EXPERTS EXCHANGE®
Senior Technical Lead

As far as i know there isn't a forest functioning level called '2008 r2 sp1', it's only '2008 R2'. The 2008 R2 server does have SP1 installed. So, Microsoft would have mentioned it in the article.

So, raising to 2008 R2 would be sufficient in your case which Exchange 2016 supports.

Do more with

Expert Office
Submit tech questions to Ask the Experts™ at any time to receive solutions, advice, and new ideas from leading industry professionals.

Start 7-Day Free Trial