• Status: Solved
  • Priority: Medium
  • Security: Public
  • Views: 87
  • Last Modified:

Why we have Windows.old recently out of the blue

Hi,

Checking our computer we noticed a folder "Windows.old" dated just 10 days ago (Create date & modify date).  We know this folder is created when doing an upgrade, but we haven't done non to this computer, just the regular windows auto-updates.

Please advice on what could have caused it or how can we identify its origin?

Also, can we delete it? (it takes up 27.6gb exactly)
0
rayluvs
Asked:
rayluvs
  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • +2
5 Solutions
 
rayluvsAuthor Commented:
forgot to include, our computer is a Windows 10 Pro Version 10.0.16299.64.
0
 
William MillerInventory/IT ConsultantCommented:
Windows.old is created when a major update happens in Windows 10 (i.e Creators Update). It's put in place so you can roll back if you have issues and is cleaned out automatically every 30 days.

This was likely created during an automated update that installed new Windows features. This doesn't necessarily have to be an upgrade. It's safe to empty the folder only if you don't intend to roll the OS back to a previous build.
1
 
Jose Gabriel Ortega CCEO J0rt3g4 Consulting ServicesCommented:
Basically when you do the initial installation of windows.
It says that you need to download a newer version of windows (and there's an icon in the Update windows 'Windows10Update').

This update is actually a whole system update so your original installation is called "windows.old" and the new installation after the update is called "windows". Both are located in the System root folder. that's the main reason.
I installed my computer recently also windows 10 pro version and IU got it too:

c.png
0
Introducing Cloud Class® training courses

Tech changes fast. You can learn faster. That’s why we’re bringing professional training courses to Experts Exchange. With a subscription, you can access all the Cloud Class® courses to expand your education, prep for certifications, and get top-notch instructions.

 
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)Commented:
As the others have pointed out, this happens with every version change (1607 and before to 1703 and 1709).  

Start in Safe Mode and run Disk Cleanup (system files) if you wish to remove before 30 days.

This will happen again in a few months.
0
 
Lee W, MVPTechnology and Business Process AdvisorCommented:
You can just use Disk Cleanup (NOT in safe mode) just click the "Cleanup System Files" option if you're satisfied you won't need to downgrade to the prior version.  No need to go in safe mode.
0
 
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)Commented:
It normally works in Normal Mode for me. But some people here have reported no, and Safe Mode always works. So try Normal and if not try Safe.
0
 
rayluvsAuthor Commented:
Understood.  So if we decide no roll back is necessary, can we just right-click-delete on it? (Just like that or is there a recommended way?)
0
 
Jose Gabriel Ortega CCEO J0rt3g4 Consulting ServicesCommented:
Use the System clean up. do not just right click and delete (it won't work)
0
 
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)Commented:
If you decide no roll back is necessary, use Disk Cleanup (better) and select Clean up system files. I have done this one lots.
0
 
JohnBusiness Consultant (Owner)Commented:
You are very welcome and I was happy to help.
0
Question has a verified solution.

Are you are experiencing a similar issue? Get a personalized answer when you ask a related question.

Have a better answer? Share it in a comment.

Join & Write a Comment

Featured Post

Cloud Class® Course: CompTIA Healthcare IT Tech

This course will help prep you to earn the CompTIA Healthcare IT Technician certification showing that you have the knowledge and skills needed to succeed in installing, managing, and troubleshooting IT systems in medical and clinical settings.

  • 4
  • 2
  • 2
  • +2
Tackle projects and never again get stuck behind a technical roadblock.
Join Now